Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Re:creation - a top down action adventure about undeads [hiatus]  (Read 439059 times)

Elias Daler

• View Profile
    • Blog
    • Email

Site: https://eliasdaler.github.io/re-creation
Developers: Elias Daler (programming, art, game and level design, story, etc.), Torchkas (music and sound effects)
Dev logs (old): https://eliasdaler.wordpress.com/tag/devlog/
Dev logs (new): https://eliasdaler.github.io/tags/#Dev+log
Progress screenshot album: http://imgur.com/a/luoFe
Twitter: @eliasdaler
Platforms: PC, Mac, Linux
Release date: When it's done

The coolest screenshot yet (January 2016):

Hello, my name is Elias Daler and this will be a dev log of my game!
I'm a solo hobby developer and work on the game in my free time so the progress won't be very fast I hope I'll post some interesting stuff from time to time! You can read previous dev logs here.

The development of this game started in October 2013.
I'm writing the game in C++ and use SFML. I also use Lua for scripting. I'll try to explain how my game works in next posts. I'll write about how I use scripting, how my entity/component/system works and lots of more programming stuff!

Story
The main hero is an undead knight who was betrayed by his partner, Necromancer, during a fight with a giant demon. When the hero raises from the dead, he realizes that lots of time has passed since his death. The Great War between humans and undeads is being fought for several centuries. Necromancer is still alive. He actually became a Lich. He has lots of power and uses undeads as a cheap working force. The hero explores society of undeads and finds out that they don’t actually want to kill humans. They just don’t want people to use them for training and steal their treasure! The hero decides to stop the war and prove that undeads are not that evil as it seems.

Undead City becomes hero's new home.

Gameplay