Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: I'm working on an open source character controller class in C++  (Read 5074 times)

Aerlamnias

• View Profile
Hello guys! I'm a computer programming student who has long been interested in getting into some relatively low-level game programming. I thought about trying out SDL but the object oriented nature of SFML was really appealing to me. So as my first project, instead of working on a game, I've decided to code some "portable" classes that can help in getting a game up and running but are also easily expanded by whoever happens to be using them.

Now, because this is my first project and foray into game programming of this nature, I am very much doing this in a "learn as you go" kind of way, so we shall see where this all goes.

Here is the github link for anyone who is interested: https://github.com/FrankBotos/SFML-Topdown-Player-Character

My plans for this are relatively modest. I want to build perhaps 2-3 other classes that are derived from this, that can be used with different perspectives (for example, 2d side scroller). I will attempt to also add collision detection at some point, though that may be beyond my abilities at the moment.

For now, here is a simple class that will take your sprite sheet and animate it and provide movement!

Hopefully some people actually find some kind of use for this.

Hapax

• My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links
Re: I'm working on an open source character controller class in C++
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2015, 06:17:28 pm »
Often the best way to learn is to do so your project seems worthwhile.
Good luck!  :)

EDIT: I just had a quick look at your repository. I would recommend - for clarity, if nothing else - repositioning the charMove() code outside of (probably before) the drawing (including the clear).

Also, consider inheriting from sf::Drawable. It allows you to just do