Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Fastwriter : SFML 2.4 Game  (Read 2546 times)

Sysyfydev

• View Profile
Fastwriter : SFML 2.4 Game
« on: August 19, 2016, 08:08:28 pm »
Hi everybody,

I want to share with you a game I made with SFML: Fastwriter. It challenges you to type as fast as you can while random words are dropping into the screen.

Controls
  • [Esc] - Pause
  • [A-Z] - Take a letter
  • [Shift] - Active Cleaner
  • [Space] - Active Shift Mode

Here is a screenshot
(click to show/hide)

The source code is hosted on github: https://github.com/Sysyfydev/fastwriter
And here is more info about the game: https://sysyfydev.itch.io/fastwriter

I hope you enjoy it because I had a lot of fun while I was making it. Also I learned a lot! I even didn't know what it's a texture :-X

Any kind of feedback is welcome!

PS. Sorry for bad English it's not my native language and I'm still learning.

Hapax

• My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links
Re: Fastwriter : SFML 2.4 Game
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2016, 12:52:06 am »
Hi and welcome!

Looks interesting. It's always good when games end up improvement real-life skills too!

Not sure of the mechanics of the game. I would guess at words falling from the top and pile on top of others so you must remove words before there is no more space, similar to Tetris. Am I close?

Just had a quick look through your repository on GitHub (not at everything) and noticed that, since your images of text are in English, "resumen" should be "resume".
Selba Ward -SFML drawables
Cheese Map -Drawable Layered Tile Map
Kairos -Timing Library
Grambol
 *Hapaxia Links*

Sysyfydev

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2016, 05:07:16 pm »
Hi and thanks for the welcome!