Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Fix Your Time Step - New to SFML  (Read 5041 times)

Rutin

• View Profile
Fix Your Time Step - New to SFML
« on: December 03, 2016, 03:35:21 am »
Hello everyone! I'm new to SFML, but come from using XNA, Allegro, and some SDL back in the day.

I've always been use to just having a function that kept my games at 60 FPS lock, and all game play, logic, rendering was done in the same loop, with no independent timers, 100% based on frames rendered.

I'm extremely interested in duplicating the Time Step as per the article: http://gafferongames.com/game-physics/fix-your-timestep/ but I'm running into some issues as I've never used Delta Time, or any methods prior, everything was handled for me before.

NOTE: I turned on VSYNC in my Window Class to keep the rate at 60 FPS.

My current code for main.cpp:

#include "Game.h"
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
        // Time Test
        sf::Clock MainClock;
        double Time = 0.0;
        const double DeltaTime = 0.01;

double CurrentTime = MainClock.getElapsedTime().asSeconds();
        double Accumulator = 0.0;

Game GameTest;

while (GameTest.IsWindowOpen())
        {
                double NewTime = MainClock.getElapsedTime().asSeconds();
                double FrameTime = NewTime - CurrentTime;
                CurrentTime = NewTime;

Accumulator += FrameTime;

while (Accumulator >= DeltaTime)
                {
                        // Game Loop
                        GameTest.Input(DeltaTime);

GameTest.Logic(DeltaTime);

// AI
                        // Physics

Accumulator -= DeltaTime;
                        Time += DeltaTime;
                }

// Render Graphics
                GameTest.Render();

// FPS - Shows in Console Window
                std::cout << "FPS: " << 1.0f / FrameTime << std::endl;
        }

return 0;
}

My game.cpp code for moving the sprite:

// Input
void Game::Input(double TempUpdatesPerSecond)