Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Creating a Hero class  (Read 2273 times)

MattF

• View Profile
    • Email
Creating a Hero class
« on: September 14, 2012, 12:31:19 pm »
Hi guys!

I am a beginner when it comes to SFML, and since SFML2 does not have many tutorials i ran into some problems when designing my 2d game.

My question is this:

What is the best way to create a Hero class, considering the need of using sf::Sprite?

The hero would be animated based on a spritesheet, and would need to store data including states, frames, positions, hitpoints etc.

I came up with 3 possible solutions and i wonder which one would fit best with SFML design philosophy.

1) Hero inherits from sf::Sprite
2) Aggregation, so sf::Sprite is a member of Hero
3) Keeping sf::Sprite and Hero separate - use Hero class to store all the date and pass it to sf::Sprite

I would appreciate any answer, especially with some explanation, why any of those options might be the best.

Hiura

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Creating a Hero class
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2012, 02:31:34 pm »
1) not a good idea IMO : a Hero is not a Sprite.
2 & 3)  depends on your application design strategy. For example, if you plan to use MVC pattern then go with 3). Personally I'll go with 2).

As a matter of fact, I'm currently rewriting sftools animation API. I'll probably write a simple example later that might help you.
SFML / OS X developer

MattF

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2012, 11:10:45 am »
Thanks for the reply.

I went with option 2 as planned, it seemed straightforward, but i quickly ran into a problem.

So here's my hero class:

class Hero
{
public:
        Hero (const sf::Texture & texture, float posX, float posY, int state );
        Hero::~Hero();
        void draw (sf::RenderWindow* window);
        void move (int state);
        void display(int state);
        int getFrame();