Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Drawing sprites on screen issue [SOLVED]  (Read 2120 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

solver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Drawing sprites on screen issue [SOLVED]
« on: July 23, 2012, 08:42:54 pm »
Hello. I have a question: what method i must use to put sprites on screen? I know 3:
  • Draw sprites on texture, and then draw texture on screen
  • Draw by passing main "sf::RenderWindow App" into MyClass::Draw (sf::RenderWindow &App)
  • Inheritance of the sf::Drawable class by MyClass, and drawing it by common way
I have not found the answer on the forum and other websites. Sorry for my english. Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2012, 12:06:12 pm by solver »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10837
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Drawing sprites on screen issue
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 08:47:13 pm »
What exactly is your problem?
You draw a sprite by calling window.draw(sprite); as it is documented in every graphical example (e.g. here).
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

solver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Drawing sprites on screen issue
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2012, 09:59:51 pm »
Ok. For example, I want to draw grid and I want to use function to do this job. At the first time I use this:
void draw_grid (sf::RenderWindow &App)
{
    /*Some code*/
        App.Draw (line);
    /*...*/
}
 
Another 2 methods I descibed in my first post.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10837
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Drawing sprites on screen issue
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2012, 11:56:27 pm »
I advice you not use SFML 1.6 anymore but to switch to SFML 2rc. ;)

What is your issue with that code?
I don't understand what your problem is. Are you asking for the 'best' solution? Or is there an actual problem?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

solver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Drawing sprites on screen issue
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2012, 09:02:29 am »
>Are you asking for the 'best' solution?
Yes. This is exactly what I was looking for.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10837
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Drawing sprites on screen issue
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2012, 11:09:11 am »
There's no such thing as a 'best' solution. This highly depens on your code design and needs. If the current method works then go with it. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

solver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Drawing sprites on screen issue
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2012, 12:05:50 pm »
Thanks. Now I can start refactoring.
</tread>