Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [2.1] Custom drawing shapes  (Read 3488 times)

detlion1643

• View Profile
    • Email
[2.1] Custom drawing shapes
« on: July 18, 2014, 04:09:57 pm »
Hello everyone,

Obligatory first post "thanks for the great libraries"!

With that out of the way, I have found a couple of posts and a wiki page regarding rounded rectangle shapes. However, none of them make sense anymore as I believe something must've been changed with sf::Shape in SFML 2.1. All of the examples create a new class inheriting from sf::Shape (or even previously from that creating an sf::Shape).

So I went about creating an entire class that inherits from sf::Shape (based on the example in the wiki). After everything was done, creating a new instance of that class results in an error message: "object of abstract class type ***::***::RoundedRectangle is not allowed:"

Now I'm still new to c++ (know a ton of c# and used to override .Net paint events (GID/GDI+) to custom draw controls) but I feel like I just gotta reach out to the forum here...

I'm unsure where to go from here. From reading, it seems like I'd have to plot every usable point and use a vertex array with the sf::LineStrip primitive to connect them all? If so, any ideas for plotting the points on the corners? Is there a different better way?

Laurent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: [2.1] Custom drawing shapes
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 04:41:59 pm »
object of abstract class type ***::***::RoundedRectangle is not allowed:
It means you didn't override all the pure virtual functions of the sf::Shape base class. Or got one of the function prototypes wrong.