Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Thread running in a class stops when pressing a key  (Read 4657 times)

pinkahd

• View Profile
Thread running in a class stops when pressing a key
« on: October 24, 2013, 08:33:42 pm »
Hi there, i'm new to SFML and a novice to c++ so i came into a problem today when i try to build my own player class. The bug occurs when i press a key in a running thread, everything runs ok until i press a key any key, The function in the class have a while loop when it checks is a key is pressed and if it is then is displays a message in the console.

Here is the code with the problem if anyone knows what i did wrong can you explain it to me.

The player.h

#include "GlobalVariabiles.h"

class Player
{

public:

Player(void);
        virtual ~Player(void);

void setPlayerName(const std::string& name);
        void player_move();

std::string getPlayerName();
        sf::Sprite renderPlayer();

private:       

void setPlayerTexture(const std::string& path);

sf::Texture player_texture;
        sf::Sprite player_sprite;
        sf::Thread move_thread;

};

And the player.cpp

#include "Player.h"

bool playerexist;
std::string Player_Name;

Player::Player(void)
        :move_thread(&Player::player_move, this)
{
        playerexist = true;
        std::cout << "A new Player have bean created !" << std::endl;
        this->move_thread.launch();
}

Player::~Player(void)
{
        playerexist = false;
        this->move_thread.terminate();
        //this->move_thread.~Thread();
}

void Player::player_move()
{

while (playerexist){
                std::cout << "Runing";
                if(sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed(sf::Keyboard::W))
                        {
                                std::cout << "Player moved Up" << std::endl;
                        }
                else if(sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed(sf::Keyboard::A))
                        {