Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Best way to divide data and view?  (Read 1470 times)

Randomaniac

• View Profile
Best way to divide data and view?
« on: November 09, 2012, 09:17:44 am »
I'm not quite sure if this question belongs in the SFML forums, but I'll try it out anyway.

I'm a 19 year old student writing a small game for a long term project. Since I've used SFML before (for visual train simulation with my own graphics engine) I immediately decided it would be my graphics library for this project.

The problem is now: how do I go about dividing data and view in an orderly fashion? I want the blueprints to be just right from the start so I won't have to make any major changes later on. An older colleague has adviced me to use the MVC (Model-View-Controller) model but I haven't found a way just right to implement it.

Just to sketch you some context: The game will be 2D topview. I've got a couple of base classes: graphs and nodes and an abstract factory. All entities or game tiles will be nodes, which the graph will hold. The abstract factories will take care of producing these when asked. The derived class from the graph you can call the PlayField as it will hold the obstacles on the screen and generally decide what the screen should look like as it also holds all entities.

Now.. Just to repeat that tiny, simple-looking question. How best to set up my graphics? One single graphics object that communicates with the playfield to communicate through changes, both ways? One graphical representation object for each entity in the game?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Same goes for sharing experience: I've got few but I'm determined. Share what you can!

eigenbom

• View Profile
Re: Best way to divide data and view?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2012, 04:32:01 am »