Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Creating Multiple Shapes  (Read 11483 times)

PhysicsManUK

• View Profile
Creating Multiple Shapes
« on: December 05, 2013, 10:35:48 pm »
Hello there, I am fairly new to SFML (and C++ as a whole really) and I was wondering if there is a way to render multiple shapes (in my case, circles) to a window without physically declaring each circle once at a time.

I want to create several hundred circles to represent particles in order to carry out a Brownian Motion animation in 2d; and of course I don't really want to declare each circle, so it would be great if someone could tell me of a way to collectively declare all these circles (same radius, fill colour, but their origin positions will be set my an RNG) in a single body of code.

Thanks.

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: Creating Multiple Shapes
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2013, 11:40:31 pm »
Hello there, I am fairly new to SFML (and C++ as a whole really) and I was wondering if there is a way to render multiple shapes (in my case, circles) to a window without physically declaring each circle once at a time.
Yes, of course. You should use STL containers such as std::vector to store the shapes. Do you have a C++ book that teaches you these concepts? They're rather basic (after all, the STL is one of the most often used parts of the standard library), and every reasonable C++ book must cover them. There are a lot of bad books unfortunately...
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

PhysicsManUK

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2013, 11:56:23 pm »