Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: mage engine  (Read 5499 times)

mvl

• View Profile
    • Email
mage engine
« on: January 19, 2014, 03:16:15 pm »
hey this is a little beta engine I am making on top of sfml it currently only has 2 modules entity system and input module
it is called mage engine after the first name i have given it (mge which stands for mvl's  game engine)

the git repository can be found here:
https://github.com/unerize/mage-engine

any help is appreciated and if you add something i do not quite understand (i am not that good at c++ yet)
I would like to have a explanation.

also what do you think it is my first biblically released bit of code so any commentary is also appreciated

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: mage engine
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2014, 03:47:20 pm »
It seems to be a real trend to call every collection of some C++ files an "engine" :P

You should rather show us what your engine is actually capable of. Some code snippets that demonstrate how it can simplify things that are not possible with SFML directly.

Some things I noticed when quickly looking at the code:
  • You should pass class objects like std::string by const-reference, not value.
  • I wouldn't return internal details like a map's iterator. Try to encapsulate data and functionality.
  • Getter functions that don't change the object should be const-qualified.
  • There's no need to declare a virtual destructor if the object isn't used polymorphically. You don't need destructors at all if the compiler-generated ones work well.
  • Instead of handcrafted loops, you could use STL algorithms such as std::find() or std::fill().
  • When your compiler supports C++11, you can simplify a lot: std::array instead of arrays, range-based for loops, type inference.