Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Cross-Platform Compilation  (Read 2529 times)

SMURF4o0o

• View Profile
    • Email
Cross-Platform Compilation
« on: May 08, 2014, 04:16:50 pm »
Hi,
First I want to say my big thanks to the team of SFML as the library is amazing and reduced my time developing significantly. I am kind of new to C++ development, so I am sorry if my question is somewhat misplaced. Now to the point:

I have developed a small C++ GUI application with SFML + Code Block under Windows 7 Home Premium statically. All works perfectly.

My current task is compiling it so work under Mac.  Installing a Mac for the compilation is out of the option, I am sorry to say, due to funding limitations. Is there a way I can compile my code for that OS,  my compiler is MinGW32 with a g++ version 4.8. I've heard of some cross-compilation techniques, but haven't had any luck finding a step by step instructions on how to achieve my goal. I imagine I need to link the dylib that come with the Mac archive, but the compiler says:

File format not recognized

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jesper Juhl

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Cross-Platform Compilation
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2014, 04:31:36 pm »
You could perhaps use a virtual machine (VirtualBox is free). Then you just need a copy of OS X, not the Mac hardware.

SMURF4o0o

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2014, 04:36:21 pm »
I am sorry for the misunderstanding, when I was referring to Mac I was referring to the operating system. My goal is under Windows or Linux to be able to compile a file to be able to run on MacOS (without the need of Wine or similar).

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2014, 04:45:59 pm »
Running OS X on non Apple hardware (e.g. Virtual Box) is illegal but doable as long as you have an Intel CPU.