Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Trouble changing back to idle animation after walking  (Read 1235 times)

delagore

• View Profile
Trouble changing back to idle animation after walking
« on: March 04, 2021, 01:46:38 am »
Hi all! Newbie developer here (I'm a first year student, new to coding.) I am having some issues with a game I am trying to write. It's a pretty standard 2D, side scrolling platformer type.

I am having some trouble going back to an idle animation after walking. It returns to the idle animation after the other animations I have so far coded (jumping, attacking), but it just keeps looping in the walk animation when I release the arrow key, even though the sprite is no longer moving. The code is:

void Player::movement(float dir, float speed, float deltaTime)
{

// Sets the direction and speed, calculates the velocity and sets a new position
   direction = sf::Vector2f(dir, 0);
   setVelocity(direction * speed);
   setPosition(getPosition() + (getVelocity() * deltaTime));

}
void Player::handleInput(float deltaTime)
{
          // Calls the movement function when the arrow key is pressed
         if (input->isKeyDown(sf::Keyboard::Right))
    {
               movement(10.f, 5.f, deltaTime);
              walkAnimation();
    }
}

void Player::update(float deltaTime)
{
        if (isAnimationOver() && !input->isKeyDown(sf::Keyboard::Right))
      {
            idleAnimation();
      }
}