Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML 1.6 and VS2010  (Read 12607 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Fred_FS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #30 on: April 12, 2011, 03:06:21 pm »
But if you want to use SFML 2 dll files, but your application tells you that it is looking for SFML 1.6 dlls, you're obviously mixing up some libs ;).
By the way: I would recommend to you not to copy your librarys into your projects directory. Just set your directorys in VC2010 to the appropriate SFML folders(These paths would be interesting for us)

I uploaded my own SFML 2 binarys. So you can test it with these files. They are working fine for me, so they should work for you, too ;).
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2541480/SFML2-VC2010.rar

vicer1234

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #31 on: April 12, 2011, 03:53:25 pm »
ok...Just let me know this whether its going right or not about the following:

1) Using the SFML 2 i am getting these files for debug mode

sfml-audio-d.lib
sfnl-audio-d-2.dll

same for graphics, windows,system ,network and only sfml-main-d.lib.

2) I add the include files of SFML 2 and link with -d.lib files

The compilation is successful

Then i run it ...then it shows error
"the program cannot start because sfml-graphics-d.dll is missing from your system"

I know in the debug folder of my project i have to put the .dll files to run...but my question is since it has not generated -d.dll because it has generated -d-2.dll, how can it be solved.

if i am right it should have generated -d.dll files instead of -d-2.dll ones from the SFML source  compilation

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #32 on: April 12, 2011, 04:12:11 pm »
Are you sure that you're running the executable which is linked to SFML 2, and not an older one linked to SFML 1 for example?

Quote
if i am right it should have generated -d.dll files instead of -d-2.dll ones from the SFML source compilation

No.
The naming is correct for SFML 2 libraries, only programs linked to SFML 1 (or older SFML 2) would depend on "-d.dll" SFML files.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

vicer1234

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #33 on: April 13, 2011, 09:06:21 am »
Quote
Are you sure that you're running the executable which is linked to SFML 2, and not an older one linked to SFML 1 for example?


Yes i am running the executable which is linked to sfml 2.

what i am doing is straight forward like:
Simple windows displaying code -> linked with library files generated with sfml 2 ( compilation successful)

if the library is different then i would have got linker errors??

But when i run there is a problem with .dll files as mentioned in my previous posts  :(

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #34 on: April 13, 2011, 09:41:44 am »
Have you tried Fred_FS's files?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

vicer1234

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #35 on: April 15, 2011, 11:22:04 am »
yeah I did tried Fred's files but getting the same run time error.

"The application cannot start as sfml-graphics-d.dll is missing from your system."

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #36 on: April 15, 2011, 11:38:07 am »
This is impossible, really. There's no way it can look for "-d.dll" files if you link to SFML 2 libraries.

What I suggest is that you find all SFML related files (.lib and .dll) on your whole PC and remove all of them. then recompile SFML 2 and try again.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

vicer1234

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #37 on: April 15, 2011, 01:32:21 pm »
Yeah removed all the files and created a new project and tested with the fresh compiled library files from SFML 2 and IT WORKED  :D

DONT KNOW WHAT TO SAY :roll:

But thanks alot for quick replies :)

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML 1.6 and VS2010
« Reply #38 on: April 15, 2011, 05:34:45 pm »
Quote
DONT KNOW WHAT TO SAY

You should find out which (incorrect) libraries you were using before, and why. Otherwise you might soon run into the same problem again.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

 

anything