Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML 2.0 tutorials  (Read 2112 times)

Karleon

• View Profile
SFML 2.0 tutorials
« on: November 09, 2012, 03:05:23 pm »
Hello,

I had experience with Allegro and ClanLib, but decided to move to SFML or SDL.

I finally decided to use SFML, and I have set up the development enviroment.
I decided to try SFML 2.0, but now I see that the tutorial section for 2.0 seems pretty lackluster... Does the tutorials for 1.6 work with version 2.0?

Does the 2.0 tutorials only explain new stuff from previous versions?

In case I'm not really experienced with SFML, is it better to use version 1.6 and it's tutorials?

Thanks in advance!

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: SFML 2.0 tutorials
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 03:24:40 pm »
Does the tutorials for 1.6 work with version 2.0?
Depends on your definition of "work". :P
You can't copy the code since there's a major API change between 1.6 and 2.0, but the principles are mostly the same, so the prinziples "work". ;)

Does the 2.0 tutorials only explain new stuff from previous versions?
No, they just haven't been finished yet.

In case I'm not really experienced with SFML, is it better to use version 1.6 and it's tutorials?
Well I'd advise you to start with SFML 2, because it's less than 1.6, has more features and you won't have to relearn everything once SFML 2 is stable. ;)

Also keep in mind that there's a very detailed documentation which will makes things much easier.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

didii

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2012, 02:47:08 pm »