Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: New to SFML and need some help  (Read 2026 times)

AgentX4000

• View Profile
    • Email
New to SFML and need some help
« on: December 14, 2014, 05:28:43 pm »
Hiya all. I'm new here. I recently became aware of SFML. I made a game using SFML for my CS 201 course. It became the best project of the batch and I got 14.5 out of 12 in that project. My teacher wants me to deliver a lecture on SFML to CS-101 students. I need some help as I'm really new to this. I only know how to display sprites, get input, write text and play sounds.  :( I need some serious help to deliver this lecture.

Ixrec

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: New to SFML and need some help
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2014, 05:53:35 pm »
Could you ask a more concrete question? We'd be happy to help, but you haven't even said what the goal of the lecture is, or why simply reusing the official tutorials or your own work wouldn't be enough, so it's not clear what help you're asking us to provide.

AgentX4000

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2014, 05:56:40 pm »
Sorry. I need to teach them a bit about graphics. Tell them that there's more than just the black console. I've so far coded a chess game, super mario and bomberman sorta game with SFML.

Ixrec

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2014, 06:05:22 pm »
Why not walk them through the code for some of your own simple games?  Maybe not Super Mario, but I'm sure Chess or a Tetris clone would be short enough to actually show how key parts of the code work in a single lecture.

Hapax

• My number of posts is shown in hexadecimal.
    • View Profile
    • Links
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2014, 09:28:12 pm »
I got 14.5 out of 12 in that project.
I always thought an understanding of mathematics and logic was important in programming.
Selba Ward -SFML drawables
Cheese Map -Drawable Layered Tile Map
Kairos -Timing Library
Grambol