Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Question about redrawing the background  (Read 3806 times)

ExarKun

• View Profile
Question about redrawing the background
« on: July 04, 2017, 07:33:44 pm »
Hi!

So this is probably a very basic question and I'm sure it has been answered before, but I wasn't able to find anything. So I recently started doing some SFML and I have a general question about the way things are redrawn each frame. Currently what I have been doing (and what I found in tutorials all over the net) is that you clear the screen with any color, redraw the background and then redraw whatever else you have.
So as a simple example: Let's say I have some random image as a background and a player sprite. What I do right now is use Window.clear() and then I draw the background image and afterwards the player sprite.

Now what I wonder is, isn't there some way to only clear the sprite? Even when talking about a game running at 60 fps it seems awfully inefficient to redraw the background 60 times a second when you really only need to clear the sprite. I thought that maybe there was a way to sorta layer several windows on top of each other. So you'd have one with the background which you never clear and one for the player sprite which you do clear.
Is something like that possible or is it really the default way to clear the entire screen once every frame?
I'm just having a hard time imagining a NES redrawing the background 30 times a second.

Thanks in advance and sorry again for asking what is probably a very basic question. I just couldn't find any answers.

korczurekk

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Question about redrawing the background
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2017, 10:21:41 pm »
1. You don't need to clear window if your background covers whole view.
2. Are you writing software for NES?