SFML community forums

Help => Network => Topic started by: Superdude on September 22, 2013, 09:06:28 am

Title: What can packets send?
Post by: Superdude on September 22, 2013, 09:06:28 am
I am making a chat program and I am wondering if I have to send strings, or if I can send a struct. (Probably not, since the receiving end is not always a C++ program.

Can you give me the details?
Title: Re: What can packets send?
Post by: Ixrec on September 22, 2013, 09:38:15 am
Read the packet tutorial: http://sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.1/network-packet.php

If you're trying to talk to someone else's code then things get a lot more complicated, but if you're just making a chat program, it seems like your program would only ever be talking to copies of itself, so I don't see the problem.
Title: Re: What can packets send?
Post by: Laurent on September 22, 2013, 11:09:31 am
sf::Packet has its own internal protocol, you can't receive and decode a SFML packet in a non-SFML program.
Title: Re: What can packets send?
Post by: eXpl0it3r on September 22, 2013, 03:31:02 pm
sf::Packet has its own internal protocol, you can't receive and decode a SFML packet in a non-SFML program.
Well you can, you just have to reimplement the protocol again. ;)
Title: Re: What can packets send?
Post by: Superdude on September 22, 2013, 03:49:00 pm
Hmmm... So I can send a struct?
Title: Re: What can packets send?
Post by: eXpl0it3r on September 22, 2013, 04:00:18 pm
You can send anything, but it's also your job to convert the data into bytes to transfer it and translate it back again. ;)
Title: Re: What can packets send?
Post by: Laurent on September 22, 2013, 07:02:25 pm
Quote
Well you can, you just have to reimplement the protocol again.
... which I can change at any time, since it's not part of the public API ;D

Quote
Hmmm... So I can send a struct?
Have you read the tutorial? There is an example for exactly what you are asking here...
Title: Re: What can packets send?
Post by: Superdude on September 23, 2013, 08:45:48 pm
Yes, I have now  :D

So, what you are saying, is that I should overload the << and >> operators for my struct?
Ok, will do!

Thanx alot!


Solved