SFML community forums

Help => General => Topic started by: Chadwell on July 18, 2009, 11:51:28 pm

Title: Possible to use Ogre3D with SFML?
Post by: Chadwell on July 18, 2009, 11:51:28 pm
Hey everyone,
I'm trying to find if it is possible/a way to use Ogre3D for rendering, but SFML for everything else(like input and such). I found this article for using Ogre3D with SDL, http://www.ogre3d.org/wiki/index.php/Using_SDL_Input   but I haven't been able to find a way to do this with SFML. Any help or pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Title: Possible to use Ogre3D with SFML?
Post by: Kingdom of Fish on July 19, 2009, 03:56:15 am
IMHO you wouldn't really gain anything from doing that. OIS is a better system for input and I think you would be better of loading 2d elements as overlays and billboards in ogre3d.
Title: Possible to use Ogre3D with SFML?
Post by: Lynix on July 20, 2009, 12:06:36 pm
You need to get the SFML window handle to use it with ogre.

I've write a function for that, but it need to recompile the library.

Laurent told me that he was maybe going to add it.
Title: Possible to use Ogre3D with SFML?
Post by: Chadwell on July 22, 2009, 03:43:35 am
Quote from: "Lynix"
You need to get the SFML window handle to use it with ogre.

I've write a function for that, but it need to recompile the library.

Laurent told me that he was maybe going to add it.


I thought so, but I was having trouble finding a way to get that through SFML's documentation. Is it possible to get that without digging into SFML's source?

Thanks!