SFML community forums

Help => General => Topic started by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 04:11:51 am

Title: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 04:11:51 am
Okay so I have played with SFML2.0 be for in the past on my old Computer so its not like this is new to me..
 But I I'm still new to Computer Programming and I did just get this SFML Game Development Book.

I'm running on my brand new Computer w/ Windows 8.1 64bit running VS2013..
I just made a cMake build from 2.1sources (can't create static libs because it won't load them to compile fuk idk) so I linked the libs Dynamicly ..


My Error..
Quote
1>------ Build started: Project: SFML2.1_Test, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: static class sf::Color const sf::Color::Green" (?Green@Color@sf@@2V12@B)
1>main.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: static class sf::RenderStates const sf::RenderStates::Default" (?Default@RenderStates@sf@@2V12@B)
1>MSVCRTD.lib(crtexew.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16 referenced in function ___tmainCRTStartup
1>C:\Users\Matthew\Desktop\VS13 Projects\SFML2.1_Test\Debug\SFML2.1_Test.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 3 unresolved externals
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Would this work?> http://en.sfml-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=13010.0 (http://en.sfml-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=13010.0)
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: didii on October 07, 2014, 05:17:59 am
The linker is what tries to match a function call with a function definition. Most linker errors you will run into is often due to the fact that it can't find the definition. This is mostly because you forgot to include some files, or forgot to link some libraries. Since your error states that it cannot find sf::Color::Green and sf::RenderStates::Default, which are from SFML, it's probably because you did not link the SFML library correctly.

As for how to link it correctly, read the tutorial (http://sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.1/start-vc.php).

The third linker error (about MSVCRTD.lib) is not SFML related and can be easily googled (https://www.google.com/search?btnG=1&pws=0&q=MSVCRTD.lib&gws_rd=ssl) ;)
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 05:38:06 am
Well I'm getting somewhere lol.. that solves one problem..  Now I followed this step by step and I've also linked this be for in the past.. this time around tho I'm using VS2013.. and I have to create a new SFML 2.1 lib with cMake..  now I've also did this in the past be for also I had no Problems making the Dynamic libs.. but I did run into a problem creating the static lib(I thought I read somewhere that I need dll files).. so what I did was set it up Dynami?  I'm still getting the LNK ERROR 2001
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 07:52:37 am
Well I've been up all night trying to figure it out.. I have no clue what I did wrong.. Tomorrow I will start completely over for a fresh start..

Do you have to have extra DLL Files for the new SFML 2.1?
Title: AW: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: eXpl0it3r on October 07, 2014, 07:58:34 am
The error from the first post usually occurs when you mix debug and release libraries. When you are in debug mode you need to link against the libraries with the -d suffix. In release mode you need to link the libraries without any suffix.

It all comes down to following the official tutorial in every detail, don't jump and assume and don't just look at the images. ;)
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 08:58:37 am
This is my current setup:  VS2013, Windows 8.1

My Build I made with cMake:
C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\SFML-2.1 2013Build\lib\(libFiles)<-I have Release and Debug lib in the same folder idk if this matters?
C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\SFML-2.1 2013Build\include\SFML\(HeaderFiles)

VS2013 Project Property Configuration:
(click to show/hide)




Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: eXpl0it3r on October 07, 2014, 09:06:43 am
Are you still getting the errors you've written in the first post, even after a clean rebuild?

Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 09:26:49 am
Yeah, I've did it 3 times.. I'm stumped.. There is something I'm doing that I'm not seeing
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: eXpl0it3r on October 07, 2014, 09:33:57 am
Ah, did you by any chance define SFML_STATIC? If you build dynamically you shouldn't do that. ;)

Also the WinMain issue, is probably because you set the subsystem to window. If you did set it to window you need to link against sfml-main as well. For debugging I however advise to let the console active, so you can output things and read SFML's error output there.
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 09:49:33 am
I fixed the WinMain issue.. and yes.. I thought I took out the SFML_STATIC because I had to change back from static... for some reason I can't build Static libs....  I switched Release out but not Debug.. so that fix the error I was getting... but now I'm getting another about missing DLL files

New Error..
(click to show/hide)
Title: AW: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: eXpl0it3r on October 07, 2014, 09:55:02 am
Did you copy the DLLs next to your executable?
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 10:02:53 am
Yeah I copied the DLLs from the bin folder and put them in my project folder
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: eXpl0it3r on October 07, 2014, 10:08:34 am
Where exactly in your project directory?
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 10:15:41 am
I figured it out!! So I was missing DLL files and was still trying to SFML_STATIC
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: eXpl0it3r on October 07, 2014, 10:22:32 am
If your debug build is looking for sfml-graphics-2.dll, then you've built it wrong somehow, because the debug DLL would be sfml-graphics-d-2.dll.

You need to link against sfml-main for release if you use the window subsystem.
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 10:27:51 am
It wouldn't surprise me if I built it wrong.. because I couldn't get the static build to work right.. and I really wanted to setup the static build.. but its working for now.. and I can start tutorials from my book. I can go back and figure out how to fix my static build later.. but for now I need to go to bed!

Thanks a lot for the help!
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Xeshi2 on October 07, 2014, 12:35:19 pm
@Sanction

How did you solve problem with link dynamic libraries?
I have the same problem as author.

I added in link options: sfml-graphics-d.lib and sfml-system-d.lib, application type is CONSOLE. Windows 8.1 x64 as well as author visual 2013
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 09:55:06 pm
You have to put all your .dll files into your project solution
Ex.
C:\Users\Matthew\Desktop\VS13 Projects\SFML2.1_Test\SFML2.1_Test(put dlls here)

you get your dll files from your <build>\lib folder
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Xeshi2 on October 07, 2014, 10:50:56 pm
You have to put all your .dll files into your project solution
Ex.
C:\Users\Matthew\Desktop\VS13 Projects\SFML2.1_Test\SFML2.1_Test(put dlls here)

you get your dll files from your <build>\lib folder

I try but it didnt't help me. All time i have thesame errors.

Could you send your VS project? I change paths and maybe it will work.
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 07, 2014, 11:03:37 pm
Try removing your SFML_STATIC... because your setting up dynamically
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Xeshi2 on October 07, 2014, 11:10:16 pm
Try removing your SFML_STATIC... because your setting up dynamically

I dont have set SFML_STATIC. I dont know what is wrong with my VS settings at first look it seems to be well but linker can not find fuction with sfml.
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Sanction on October 08, 2014, 12:15:04 am
Try restarting from scratch.. I caught a few errors the 1st two times I restarted.
Title: Re: Help with Linking Error..
Post by: Xeshi2 on October 08, 2014, 01:41:20 pm
Try restarting from scratch.. I caught a few errors the 1st two times I restarted.

I try but it doesn't help me. I dont know where I have mistake in my configuration. Or maybe i have spoiled libraries?