SFML community forums

Help => General => Topic started by: That Martin Guy on February 18, 2015, 08:19:00 pm

Title: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 18, 2015, 08:19:00 pm
I know i have posted VERY similar code before, but i accidently deleted the project i was working in, so i had to redo the tutorial. Also, the error is completely different from what i can tell.

Bascially, when i try to make the screen red, its white instead, like if i didnt give it a color.

Game.cpp
#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Game.h"

Game::Game()
{
        sf::RenderWindow _mainWindow(sf::VideoMode(1024, 768, 32), "Pang!");
        _gameState = uninitialized;
        start();
}
void Game::start(void)
{
        if(_gameState != uninitialized)
                return;

        _gameState = Game::playing;

        while(!isExiting())
        {
                gameLoop();
        }

        _mainWindow.close();
}
bool Game::isExiting()
{
        if(_gameState == exiting)
        {
                return true;
        }
        else
        {
                return false;
        }
}
void Game::gameLoop()
{
        sf::Event currentEvent;
        while(_mainWindow.pollEvent(currentEvent))
        {
                switch(_gameState)
                {
                case playing:
                        _mainWindow.clear(sf::Color::Red);
                        _mainWindow.display();

                        if(currentEvent.type == sf::Event::Closed)
                        {
                                _gameState = exiting;
                        }
                }
        }
}

Game.h
#include "stdafx.h"

class Game
{
public:
        Game();
        void start();
private:
        bool isExiting();
        void gameLoop();

        enum GameState{uninitialized, showingSplash, paused, showingMenu, playing, exiting};

        GameState _gameState;
        sf::RenderWindow _mainWindow;
};

When i debug, it stops at
while(_mainWindow.pollEvent(currentEvent))
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: dabbertorres on February 18, 2015, 08:46:23 pm
Looks like you never changed the value of _gameState to playing.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: Arcade on February 18, 2015, 08:49:08 pm
I'm not sure if this is directly related to your problem, but your gameloop seems a bit weird to me. Right now you are only clearing and displaying the window if an event happens. Perhaps you want something like this instead?

Code: [Select]
while(_mainWindow.pollEvent(currentEvent))
{
   if(currentEvent.type == sf::Event::Closed)
   {
      _gameState = exiting;
   }
}

switch(_gameState)
{
   case playing:
      _mainWindow.clear(sf::Color::Red);
      _mainWindow.display();
}
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 11:48:22 am
I'm not sure if this is directly related to your problem, but your gameloop seems a bit weird to me. Right now you are only clearing and displaying the window if an event happens. Perhaps you want something like this instead?

Code: [Select]
while(_mainWindow.pollEvent(currentEvent))
{
   if(currentEvent.type == sf::Event::Closed)
   {
      _gameState = exiting;
   }
}

switch(_gameState)
{
   case playing:
      _mainWindow.clear(sf::Color::Red);
      _mainWindow.display();
}
Its supposed to be like that. Later, when i get further in the tutorial, i will do different stuff.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: eXpl0it3r on February 19, 2015, 12:18:23 pm
It's not only weird or something one can change "later", but it's simply wrong. Rendering doesn't belong into the event loop, so don't do it.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 01:16:19 pm
It's not only weird or something one can change "later", but it's simply wrong. Rendering doesn't belong into the event loop, so don't do it.
Ok, thanks for telling me. However, it still doesnt change the color. Its as white as it always was.
Title: AW: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: eXpl0it3r on February 19, 2015, 01:24:25 pm
Looks like you never changed the value of _gameState to playing.
Title: Re: AW: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 01:29:40 pm
Looks like you never changed the value of _gameState to playing.
1. I never saw that post.
2.
void Game::start(void)
{
    if(_gameState != uninitialized)
        return;

    _gameState = Game::playing; //I did actually, and changing it to _gameState = playing didnt work either

    while(!isExiting())
    {
        gameLoop();
    }

    _mainWindow.close();
}
I have the debugger to back me up. When it comes to the switch statement, it tells me that gamestate indeed is playing.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: eXpl0it3r on February 19, 2015, 02:29:19 pm
Since you have the debugger running, does it reach the clear statement?

Is your graphics driver installed/uptodate?
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 02:34:26 pm
Since you have the debugger running, does it reach the clear statement?

Is your graphics driver installed/uptodate?
Yes, it reaches the clear statement AND the display.

Since ive had it show me a red screen before, i would assume that they are uptodate.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: eXpl0it3r on February 19, 2015, 02:50:48 pm
Don't assume, check...

Also what did you change if it worked before?
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 04:44:22 pm
Don't assume, check...

Also what did you change if it worked before?
Drives updated, still as white as ever. The only thing i recall changing is using the constructor to create the window instead of
_mainWindow.create(stuff);
Title: AW: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: eXpl0it3r on February 19, 2015, 04:55:48 pm
Provide a minimal and compilable example of your updated code.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 05:13:29 pm
You meant from the code that i posted above? I thought you meant the one i tried a week or so ago that i posted somewhere around this forum.
Gave comments to the lines that changed.
#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Game.h"

Game::Game()
{
        sf::RenderWindow _mainWindow(sf::VideoMode(1024, 768, 32), "Pang!");
        _gameState = uninitialized;
        start();
}
void Game::start(void)
{
        if(_gameState != uninitialized)
        {
                return;
        }

        _gameState = playing;

        while(!isExiting())
        {
                gameLoop();
        }

        _mainWindow.close();
}
bool Game::isExiting()
{
        if(_gameState == exiting)
        {
                return true;
        }
        else
        {
                return false;
        }
}
void Game::gameLoop() //Where the actual change happened
{
        sf::Event currentEvent;
        while(_mainWindow.pollEvent(currentEvent)) //No longer contains the rendering
        {
                if(currentEvent.type == sf::Event::Closed)
                        {
                                 _gameState = exiting;
                        }
        }
        switch(_gameState) //Note that i moved this from the while loop
        {
                case playing:
                _mainWindow.clear(sf::Color::Red);
                _mainWindow.display();
        }
}
Title: AW: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: eXpl0it3r on February 19, 2015, 05:16:33 pm
It's not compilable by others on this forum.
Alternatively you could just run an example from SFML. If that works, your code must be bugged.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: Jesper Juhl on February 19, 2015, 05:18:05 pm
Post a Short, Self Contained, Correct (Compilable), Example (http://sscce.org/).
Title: Re: AW: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 05:25:20 pm
If that works, your code must be bugged.
Thats pretty much what i was asking for help for. Like you may have assumed, the example code from the visual studio tutorial did work.
Something i forgot to mention aswell, i use visual studio 2010 express if that helps.
Title: AW: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: eXpl0it3r on February 19, 2015, 05:32:07 pm
If an SFML example runs fine, then there's an issue in your code. If there's an issue in your code, you need to post a compilable and minimal example (see Jesper Juhl's link).
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: That Martin Guy on February 19, 2015, 05:49:38 pm
This is alot of work just to report a problem. I might sound lazy, but right now i have a stomach flu (i think is the english name for it) and i problably shouldnt be on the computer. Give me a few days or so, and i may come back.
Title: Re: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: Jesper Juhl on February 19, 2015, 05:55:27 pm
Ehh. Programming is all about solving problems and doing research, experiments, learning - in short; work - is a part of that.
If doing that work results in you figuring out the solution yourself; great. If not, then at least we will have more/better info to base our help on.
If you expect to always be able to solve your code issues by posting vague descriptions and incomplete examples and then have other people do the work for you, you are not going to get far.
Programming is difficult and a lot of work. Fact of life. Get used to it
 :)
Title: Re: AW: My window doesnt have a color
Post by: Jesper Juhl on February 19, 2015, 06:16:29 pm
Something i forgot to mention aswell, i use visual studio 2010 express if that helps.
May I suggest that you upgrade to Visual Studio 2013 Community Edition (update 4)?
It is a free download, has many bug fixes, supports much of C++11 (which is great) - or use some other modern compiler (like GCC or Clang).
It won't help you with your current problem, but going forward it'll be much nicer than being stuck in C++98 land (which is not a very nice place to be considering what modern C++ brings to the table)  ;)