SFML community forums

Help => General => Topic started by: smguyk on July 19, 2015, 10:16:40 am

Title: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: smguyk on July 19, 2015, 10:16:40 am
I want to have a custom mouse cursor in my game, and instead of hiding the cursor and drawing a sprite at its position I want to change the hardware cursor.

Something like this: https://love2d.org/wiki/Cursor

Is that possible?
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: eXpl0it3r on July 19, 2015, 10:20:49 am
Not (yet) with SFML directly.
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: smguyk on July 19, 2015, 10:25:07 am
Okay, thanks!
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: GalakTozawr on July 19, 2015, 10:55:50 am
You must using winapi and unsubscribe from standart cursor. Next step create sprite end draw his on coordinate mouse.
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: Mario on July 19, 2015, 12:50:33 pm
You must using winapi and unsubscribe from standart cursor. Next step create sprite end draw his on coordinate mouse.
That's essentially a "software cursor". And you don't have to use the WinAPI with that, because SFML can just hide the cursor.
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: Forceofaqua on July 24, 2015, 12:22:08 am
You can do what I did and implement a sprite as the cursor.

call
<window name>.setMouseCursorVisible(false);
to turn off cursor while inside the window.

Then within your window make a sprite with the cursor texture you would like.

Now all you have to do is set the sprite origin to the cursors location
sf::vector2i mouse = sf::Mouse::getPosition(<window name>);
<cursor sprite>.setOrigin(mouse.x, mouse.y);

For me personally I had to change the coordinates to negatives before I saw the cursor flying around my window. I'm not that knowledgeable in SFML so I don't know if that's how its supposed to be.
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: Jesper Juhl on July 24, 2015, 01:00:30 am
You are (again) describing a software cursor. OP asked about changing the hardware cursor.
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: Mörkö on July 24, 2015, 06:05:54 am
I want this as well, because even at its most basic there is a noticeable delay in a software rendered cursor, see attached video.

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>
int main() {
    sf::RenderWindow win{sf::VideoMode{1600, 900}, "Cursor test"};
    while (win.isOpen()) {
        sf::Event e;
        while (win.pollEvent(e))
            if (e.type == sf::Event::KeyPressed) { win.close(); }
        sf::RectangleShape rect{sf::Vector2f{50, 50}};
        rect.setPosition(sf::Vector2f{sf::Mouse::getPosition(win)});
        win.clear();
        win.draw(rect);
        win.display();
    }
}
Title: Re: Change hardware cursor?
Post by: Hapax on July 24, 2015, 05:48:50 pm
even at its most basic there is a noticeable delay in a software rendered cursor
It's only noticable because you can see the hardware cursor. The actual location of the software cursor is in fact the location that you are using in any mouse position calculations.

That said, you'll need OS-specific code to change the hardware cursor, although it shouldn't be too complicated.