SFML community forums

Bindings - other languages => Python => Topic started by: genericuser on February 10, 2010, 10:24:50 pm

Title: Vista 64-bit not working with PySFML
Post by: genericuser on February 10, 2010, 10:24:50 pm
I'm trying get PySFML working on Vista; I'm using the worm.py demo to test it.

However, trying it in 64-bit Python yields the following error:

Code: [Select]
>>> from PySFML import sf

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<pyshell#0>", line 1, in <module>
    from PySFML import sf
ImportError: DLL load failed: %1 is not a valid Win32 application.


Trying it in 32-bit Python worked slightly better- the "PyWorm" menu came up, but when I selected any option from it, it crashed with a
Code: [Select]
"pythonw.exe has stopped working"

I've set up PySFML the "traditional" way- putting the .dlls and the bindings into a folder in site-packages- which probably explains why 64-bit Python didn't work (packages not compiled for 64b)

I still don't know why the 32-bit version crashes, though. Any clues about what's wrong?
Title: Vista 64-bit not working with PySFML
Post by: Tank on February 11, 2010, 02:57:22 pm
The 64 Bit-compiled Python interpreter works only with 64 Bit-compiled SFML binaries.

Regarding your error: What Python version are you using? And can you provide a very short example that reproduces the problem?
Title: Vista 64-bit not working with PySFML
Post by: genericuser on February 11, 2010, 04:33:45 pm
Quote from: "Tank"
The 64 Bit-compiled Python interpreter works only with 64 Bit-compiled SFML binaries.

Regarding your error: What Python version are you using? And can you provide a very short example that reproduces the problem?


Oh. I don't think I have those. Are there any prebuilt versions(DLLs), or do I have to compile them myself?

I used Python 2.6.4, and I noticed the problem when I tried out worm.py in the Python SDK.
Title: Vista 64-bit not working with PySFML
Post by: Tank on February 11, 2010, 04:51:09 pm
You have to compile them by yourself. But that shouldn't be a problem. Just change the arch target from 32 Bit to 64 Bit. :)

Would be nice if you still could come up with a minimal example so I can have a look at it.