SFML community forums
Help => General => Topic started by: hyperworker on May 26, 2018, 11:11:23 pm
-
This is similar to the topic found here: https://en.sfml-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=20675.0 where I can push back an sf::text and get a bad_alloc...in my classes, that is. But it's even worse in main, where I get an error i can't even properly describe off the top of my head (it's in the attachment) and I've been running this project for nearly a year now, so unfortunately the error isn't caused by something as simple as mixing libraries.
What I BELIEVE is the issue is that some kind of file is corrupted. But I do not like operating off of believes, not with software at least. I'm trying not to move anything until I know for sure what's really going on here.
FYI, after the BSOD I had Windows 10 "reset", which removed all apps but kept the files. I reinstalled Visual Studio and when I opened the project all of my linking information was still intact, as was the folder where everything was kept.
And yes, there were external backups. Seven to be specific, I tried three others(2 off USB the other an exHDD) and they are undergoing the same issue.
Is my only choice to reinstall again and get a new set of SFML modules here?
-
Am I missing some of your story or what is exactly up with your BSOD?
If your system randomly blue screens, I suggest to first fix your hardware issues. :D
You're not on the latest version of VS, if you don't use VS 15.7.0 or newer, the provided binaries won't work.
Since you're using the 32-bits compiler, make sure you've downloaded the 32-bits binaries.
Make sure you're also replacing the DLLs and not just linking other libraries.
If can't figure out the compatibility, just build SFML from source with your compiler, that way you're guaranteed to get working binaries.
-
Yes you are, I left quite a bit out so that's my fault. It was an issue with an old AMD graphics card I had specially configured with catalyst control. I accidentally let Windows 10 update and I knew it would happen at some point because older AMD isn't supported by Windows 10. lol I already had an extra GPU if by chance I slip up.
The download labeled "Visual C++ 14 (2015) - 32-bit" won't work on my version? I have other versions of VS, if I should just move to VS 2017 I can do that.
Okay then. Thanks for the quick response (and sorry mine was slow).
-
Are you on the latest version of VS 2015? I just see the yellow flag in your screenshot indicating that there's an up-to-date of some sort.
Personally, I'd update to VS 2017 anyways. No real reason to stick with old IDE versions.