Help => General => Topic started by: zchary on July 09, 2018, 05:54:57 am
Title: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: zchary on July 09, 2018, 05:54:57 am
I'm running an example of SFML tutorial on Xcode(macOS), showing a black screen instead of Cyan circle. After a few trying, I find that the circle only shows after I Maximizing the window. So I think that there might be some problems on the SFML package or the system.
anyone has the same problem? please help...
Title: Re: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: eXpl0it3r on July 10, 2018, 10:02:22 am
What's your code?
Title: Re: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: zchary on July 10, 2018, 10:39:20 am
here's my code: #include<SFML/Graphics.hpp> int main(int argc, char const *argv[]) { sf::RenderWindow window(sf::VideoMode(640,800),"TEST"); sf::CircleShape shape;
return 0; } the `shape` only shows after I max maximizing the window.
Title: Re: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: eXpl0it3r on July 10, 2018, 11:09:35 am
What SFML version are you using?
Title: Re: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: zchary on July 13, 2018, 05:01:36 am
SFML version is the newest 2.5.0, my computer system is macOS Mojave 10.14 Beta, MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015), Xcode version is 9.3, CLion version is 2018.1.5. :)
Title: Re: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: Stauricus on July 13, 2018, 12:25:01 pm
well, your code works for me, so that isn't the problem. oh, just one thing is wrong. instead of
shape.setFillColor(sf::color::Cyan);
use
shape.setFillColor(sf::Color::Cyan);
(with a capital C in Color).
probably a OS related bug?
Title: Re: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: Dschoonmaker on July 17, 2018, 03:42:40 pm
Maybe you setup SFML wrong. Does it give you any errors? Have you tried any other code?
I think your code is ok...
Title: Re: Black screen showing after running program.
Post by: Hapax on July 17, 2018, 03:47:14 pm
Since the code was incorrect (needs a capital c as shown in a post above), it might not have been copied directly and instead been rewritten better than the code being tested. The problem could have simply been an accidental misplacement of a closing curly bracket. That is, the clear/draw/display ended up in the event loop.