SFML community forums

Help => Graphics => Topic started by: Me-Myself-And-I on March 03, 2023, 10:44:24 pm

Title: Does SFML only have large texture errors at compile time?
Post by: Me-Myself-And-I on March 03, 2023, 10:44:24 pm
So I know that when there's a texture that too large you'll get an error but I wasn't sure if this mattered once compiled.If you compiled the program on a computer that allowed that larger texture but ran the compiled program on another computer that isn't supposed to be able to handle that texture size,will it load the texture or  give that error? 
Title: Re: Does SFML only have large texture errors at compile time?
Post by: G. on March 03, 2023, 10:55:01 pm
Of course it depends on what computer runs the program. ;)
Title: Re: Does SFML only have large texture errors at compile time?
Post by: kojack on March 04, 2023, 03:46:08 am
Compiling doesn't load textures, the code has no idea what size they are until the program is run by the end user.
The limit is determined based on the properties of the graphics card at run time. Different cards can have different limits, older cards might be 2048x2048 or lower, newer ones (like my RTX2080TI) are 32768x32768.
Title: Re: Does SFML only have large texture errors at compile time?
Post by: Me-Myself-And-I on March 04, 2023, 08:35:44 pm
Thanks for the reply.That tells me all I needed to know.