SFML community forums

Help => General => Topic started by: Aerosol on September 14, 2010, 09:24:00 pm

Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Aerosol on September 14, 2010, 09:24:00 pm
Hey all. I can't build the "compile your first SFML program" code in VC2010. First time I tried to build, I got this error:

Code: [Select]
1>------ Build started: Project: SFML_1, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Build started 9/14/2010 3:20:35 PM.
1>InitializeBuildStatus:
1>  Touching "Debug\SFML_1.unsuccessfulbuild".
1>ClCompile:
1>  All outputs are up-to-date.
1>  SFML_1.cpp
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(1): warning C4627: '#include <SFML/System.hpp>': skipped when looking for precompiled header use
1>          Add directive to 'StdAfx.h' or rebuild precompiled header
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(2): warning C4627: '#include <iostream>': skipped when looking for precompiled header use
1>          Add directive to 'StdAfx.h' or rebuild precompiled header
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(19): fatal error C1010: unexpected end of file while looking for precompiled header. Did you forget to add '#include "StdAfx.h"' to your source?
1>
1>Build FAILED.
1>
1>Time Elapsed 00:00:00.29
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========


When I add

Code: [Select]
#include "stdafx." I get this build error:

Code: [Select]
1>------ Build started: Project: SFML_1, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Build started 9/14/2010 3:21:30 PM.
1>InitializeBuildStatus:
1>  Touching "Debug\SFML_1.unsuccessfulbuild".
1>ClCompile:
1>  All outputs are up-to-date.
1>  SFML_1.cpp
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(1): warning C4627: '#include <SFML/System.hpp>': skipped when looking for precompiled header use
1>          Add directive to 'StdAfx.h' or rebuild precompiled header
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(2): warning C4627: '#include <iostream>': skipped when looking for precompiled header use
1>          Add directive to 'StdAfx.h' or rebuild precompiled header
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(7): error C2653: 'sf' : is not a class or namespace name
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(7): error C2065: 'Clock' : undeclared identifier
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(7): error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'Clock'
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(7): error C2065: 'Clock' : undeclared identifier
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(8): error C2065: 'Clock' : undeclared identifier
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(8): error C2228: left of '.GetElapsedTime' must have class/struct/union
1>          type is ''unknown-type''
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(8): fatal error C1903: unable to recover from previous error(s); stopping compilation
1>
1>Build FAILED.
1>
1>Time Elapsed 00:00:00.31
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========


I put the lib files exactly where the tutorial told me to, and the SFML folder exactly where it told me to as well. Help please? Thanks.
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Laurent on September 14, 2010, 09:58:54 pm
You should rather disable precompiled headers (unless you really need them, of course).
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Aerosol on September 14, 2010, 10:08:17 pm
I set the properties of "stadfx.cpp" and "SFML-1.cpp" (this is my source file) to not use precompiled headers. I'm getting this build error:

Code: [Select]
1>------ Build started: Project: SFML_1, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Build started 9/14/2010 4:06:57 PM.
1>InitializeBuildStatus:
1>  Touching "Debug\SFML_1.unsuccessfulbuild".
1>ClCompile:
1>  SFML_1.cpp
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(15): error C2059: syntax error : 'return'
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(16): error C2059: syntax error : '}'
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(16): error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before '}'
1>c:\documents and settings\teddybear\my documents\visual studio 2010\projects\sfml_1\sfml_1\sfml_1.cpp(16): error C2059: syntax error : '}'
1>
1>Build FAILED.
1>
1>Time Elapsed 00:00:01.40
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Laurent on September 14, 2010, 10:29:27 pm
Do you really think that we'll be able to help you without seeing the lines 15 and 16 of sfml_1.cpp? ;)
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: panithadrum on September 14, 2010, 11:13:12 pm
You add #include "stdafx." or #include "stdafx.H"?

Anyway, looks like you have some missing ";" or "}" in your code!
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Aerosol on September 14, 2010, 11:23:11 pm
Like I said, its the "compile your first SFML program" code. Here, I'll copy and paste it.

Code: [Select]
#include <SFML/System.hpp>
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    sf::Clock Clock;
    while (Clock.GetElapsedTime() < 5.f)
    {
        std::cout << Clock.GetElapsedTime() << std::endl;
        sf::Sleep(0.5f);
    }

    return 0;
}
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Laurent on September 14, 2010, 11:54:03 pm
Can we have the actual code that you compile? The one above doesn't even have 15 lines. I mean, maybe you made a mistake while copying / manipulating the original one.
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Aerosol on September 15, 2010, 12:35:54 am
Code: [Select]
#include <SFML/System.hpp>
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    sf::Clock Clock;
    while (Clock.GetElapsedTime() < 5.f)
    {
        std::cout << Clock.GetElapsedTime() << std::endl;
        sf::Sleep(0.5f);
    }

    return 0;
}
return 0;
}


Copied directly from my VC2010 window.

EDIT: I saw the error. Thanks for the precompiled header tip.
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Nexus on September 15, 2010, 12:40:32 am
Quote from: "Aerosol"
EDIT: I saw the error. Thanks for the precompiled header tip.
The problem is the
Code: [Select]
return 0;
}
outside of the main() function.
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Aerosol on September 15, 2010, 12:55:39 am
Yes I saw it. Thanks again.
Title: Can't compile example program with VC2010!
Post by: Nexus on September 15, 2010, 01:49:08 am
Oh sorry, I understood it like you found an error related to the precompiled header. But it's clear now. :)