SFML community forums

Help => General => Topic started by: Legion on December 04, 2011, 08:54:14 pm

Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: Legion on December 04, 2011, 08:54:14 pm
I've been fiddling around with the SFML 1.6 tutorial and I can't seem to get the graphics window up at all. Here's the code:

Code: [Select]
#include <SFML\Window.hpp>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
using namespace sf;

int main(int argc, char** argv) {

Window App(VideoMode(800, 600, 32), "SFML Window");

bool Running = true;

while (Running) {

App.Display();
}

system("pause");

return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}


I've also searched the forum for similar issues and found out that it might be related to that I have an ATI-graphics card. I've read through these threads:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3438&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=27975#27975
http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=35670&sid=ee1412d75ec51b220f4c7a5d78336d5c

Perhaps the problem is related to this? The threads are fairly old as well, but has the bug been fixed yet? Or perhaps I have some errors in my code?
Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: Laurent on December 04, 2011, 09:01:25 pm
Yes, SFML 1.6 still has this bug (it's not maintained anymore).
Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: Legion on December 04, 2011, 09:12:22 pm
Oh, that's a bummer. I guess I'll have to wait patiently for 2.0 then. Thank you very much for the fast answer.
Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: OniLinkPlus on December 05, 2011, 12:25:30 am
Quote from: "Legion"
Oh, that's a bummer. I guess I'll have to wait patiently for 2.0 then. Thank you very much for the fast answer.
2.0's ready for use. It's just a matter of finishing some last minute fixes and details in the new graphics API.
Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: Serapth on December 05, 2011, 05:56:57 am
Quote from: "Legion"
Oh, that's a bummer. I guess I'll have to wait patiently for 2.0 then. Thank you very much for the fast answer.



The fix is in that thread you posted, simply add that DLL to your run directory and everything will work fine.  Otherwise you can see details here (http://www.gamefromscratch.com/post/2011/08/25/This-is-some-kind-of-stupid.aspx).
Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: purkskis on December 06, 2011, 04:56:35 pm
I get BSOD when adding that DLL  :lol:
Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: Serapth on December 07, 2011, 09:22:26 pm
Quote from: "purkskis"
I get BSOD when adding that DLL  :lol:



This is really odd, that's the 3rd time i've heard that in the last month, and never before that.  Did you by chance recently upgrade drivers?  If so, what revision, OS ( including bitness) and what card are you running?

Also, does it still bluescreen when run within VS, or just when run directly?
Title: [ANSWERED] Window not showing up (perhaps ATI-related)
Post by: thomasudesu on December 28, 2011, 01:33:03 am
I get the same BSOD with the DLL fix, using Win7 Ultimate x64, VC++ (no SP1). BSOD when running directly AND in debug. Running beta Catalyst drivers on my 6950 (12.1). Any ETA on SFML 2? I would like to get to work on gamesfromscratch xD Not that far in and mega problems with no response from my program.

2.0 SHOULD fix the need for a DLL fix yah?