SFML community forums

Help => Graphics => Topic started by: BMB on December 30, 2011, 12:40:40 am

Title: Changes in API
Post by: BMB on December 30, 2011, 12:40:40 am
I just compiled the new version of SFML2 from github, my previous one being about 2 weeks old, and now my programs wont link. Looking at the commit histort, it appears the changes were from the "merge branch 'drawables'" commit. However, as that commit changed a few thousand lines, I cannot just go see what changed.

So...
a) What is this 'drawables' branch that was merged?
b) Is there a list of the changes it caused? A partial list of what the linker reports as missing:
  Sprite::SetSubRect
  Drawable::SetPosition(float, float)
  Drawable::~Drawable
  RenderTarget::Draw(Drawable const&)
Title: Re: Changes in API
Post by: Nexus on December 30, 2011, 12:48:47 am
It is the new Graphics API, see here (http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6413).

But how can you only have linker errors? Many identifiers have changed, it shouldn't even compile. I recommend a complete rebuild. The new classes and functions can be looked up in the online documentation.
Title: Re: Changes in API
Post by: BMB on December 30, 2011, 12:50:16 am
Quote from: "Nexus"
It is the new Graphics API, see here (http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6413).

But how can you only have linker errors? Many identifiers have changed, it shouldn't even compile. I recommend a complete rebuild. The new classes and functions can be looked up in the online documentation.


this was after I did a complete rebuild.
Title: Re: Changes in API
Post by: BMB on December 30, 2011, 12:53:20 am
Quote from: "BMB"
Quote from: "Nexus"
It is the new Graphics API, see here (http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6413).

But how can you only have linker errors? Many identifiers have changed, it shouldn't even compile. I recommend a complete rebuild. The new classes and functions can be looked up in the online documentation.


this was after I did a complete rebuild.


I just realized I was using the old include directory. I will do it again to get the compiler errors ;-)