-
I searched already, if there would be any topic about this subject...
All which i found, there was said "View - Property Manager". I have not that. Only "Properties Window" and "Property Pages".
I would be very gladful about your help, thank you very much already! :)
-
I'm a bit confused exactly what you are looking for, but if you are looking for detailed installation instructions for Visual Studio 2010, start right here (http://www.gamefromscratch.com/page/Game-From-Scratch-CPP-Edition-Part-1.aspx). It should get you going.
If I misunderstood your request, please clarify.
-
Here is a youtube video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PtSDrLpV74M&lc=vN6a9_S3nMRbdnAZCbG6HOKNt3j3yg3J7xCdRXZeDDE&context=C32d6917ADOEgsToPDskJ6DnT9LDtXlFctwZ7ePtn8) that I have found to be immensely helpful for setting up SFML 2.0 in VS2010. It should walk you through the entire process.
-
Ehrm they don't differ very much.
The settings were you have to change something are the same in Express and Pro.
If you see something that doesn't match, then let us know and we could provid you with more information.
-
Take a look of my thread:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=44658#44658
Is just a bit under this :D
I use VS2010 Ultimate.
If you need help PM me ;)
-
Serapth, i mean how to install SFML 1.6 or 2.0 to Visual Studio 2010 Professional. All instructions that i have found were made with Express, where all menus were fully different. But i will test those instructions today...
Ah, Ic. Those instructions were actually for Express, but as was said, they are pretty similar. I have both installed right now, so if you get hung up on a specific thing missing, let me know.
-
Take a look of my thread:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=44658#44658
Yesterday evening i tried to follow your instructions, but pictures did not match in my editor. For example I have not "Property Manager" in my View menu. Only Properties Window and Property Pages.
-
To View property manager in VCExpress, you can choose Tools -> Setting -> Expert settings. After that, you will see View -> Property Manager option.
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/Vsexpressvc/thread/e7b6559e-b0c2-453a-bae6-4234a408fe4e
-
To View property manager in VCExpress, you can choose Tools -> Setting -> Expert settings. After that, you will see View -> Property Manager option.
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/Vsexpressvc/thread/e7b6559e-b0c2-453a-bae6-4234a408fe4e
I still have NOT Express...I have Visual Studio 2010 Professional
-
All which i found, there was said "View - Property Manager". I have not that. Only "Properties Window" and "Property Pages".
I'm not sure what you were following that stated you have to search in the view menu...
The official tutorial (http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.0/start-vc.php) only says "In the project's properties" which obviously implies Project->Project Properties. As you can see in the image blow:
(http://wiki.oxygenelanguage.com/en-w/images/b/ba/ProjectOptionsAero.png)
To get the project menu entry to show, you have to open a project and you need to select the project in the Property Manager.
Finding yourself around menu entries etc is very basic stuff on how to operate with your computer and should be easy for a developer... :-\
-
Now I reinstalled SFML-2.0 to C:\SFML and linked to VS as in tutorial was made. But now...gives this error. Tried both with release and debug.
error LNK1104: cannot open file 'sfml-graphics-d.lib sfml-window-d.lib sfml-system-d.lib kernel32.lib'
Could someone create very very easy instructions and ready Solution. That would help very much. Before I have used Allegro library, and that worked perfectly just following instructions.
-
cannot open file 'sfml-graphics-d.lib sfml-window-d.lib sfml-system-d.lib kernel32.lib'
The linker thinks it's a single file, you must have formatted it badly in the "Additional dependencies" text box.
-
I wrote it same as in tutorial, only space, not commas or dots.
http://sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.0/images/start-vc-link-libs.png (http://sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.0/images/start-vc-link-libs.png)
-
Well you need to seperate them with a semicolon.
@Laurent: why are there only spaces? :o
-
@Laurent: why are there only spaces?
Because that how it works for me. I'm using VS 2008 but I don't think they changed that in VS 2010.
-
Hmmm I'm not sure, but I've never used space, but always used semicolons, then again I've only worked with VS10 & VS12...
-
Now I replaced spaces with semicolon, and that error disappeared (at last). But now there came new error...
error C1010: unexpected end of file while looking for precompiled header. Did you forget to add '#include "StdAfx.h"' to your source?
If I add more includes, #include
comes red underlined.
-
You should always start off with an empty project (not console nor window).
There's an optino somewhere in the project settings to deactivae precompiled headers.
-
Precompiled header options are in "C/C++ > Precompiled headers". Don't use them if you don't know how they work ;)
-
If you follow the tutorial step by step you get a working project. Trust me. And in case I'm wrong, then it will help others a lot more if you help me understand what's missing or incorrect in the tutorial, rather than throwing them an empty SFML project.
Do you link to the dynamic or static version of SFML? Are your defines set accordingly?
-
I say this again... Please someone create for me empty, ready for use Solution file with ready SFML-settings. It will ease my and others work very much.
If you don't learn how to do this sort of thing, then you'll have a hard time programming in C++.
The error means that you're either mixing debug and release versions or that you mix static and dynamic library versions. Both 'sides' have to align with each other.
-
Now I tried 2 times with SFML 2.0 tutorial. Did not work. Of course I can try 1.6 tutorial again. Or can someone record video when making SFML project from scratch? That would help also to see which parts I have maybe failed.
-
Did not worked
You're not helping us to solve your problem.
Please:
- post the error messages
- answer our questions
Or upload your .vcproj file, it will probably be faster than guessing what you might have done wrong, and asking you to tell us what parameters you used etc. ;)
-
I will try from beginning with 2.0 and by recording it now. Then we can see is tutorial wrong or do I just fail something.
-
No offense, but if you ignore what we are saying or asking, chances are we won't reply anymore.
I'm at work so I can't watch a video. But I can look at a .vcproj file.
-
Now is made again, followed by 2.0 tutorial. Here is the full project zipped.
http://www.speedyshare.com/YtRuG/download/sfml.zip
-
You define SFML_STATIC, but you link to the dynamic libraries (the static ones have the "-s" suffix"). This is clearly explained in the tutorial, isn't it?
Static SFML libraries have the "-s" suffix: "sfml-xxx-s-d.lib" for Debug, and "sfml-xxx-s.lib" for Release.
In this case, you'll also need to define the SFML_STATIC macro in the preprocessor options of your project.
And by the way, this is what I asked you 7 posts ago ::)
-
don't forget to copy the SFML DLLs (they are in <sfml-install-path/bin>) to the directory where your compiled executable is
I told you, everything is explained. Just read carefully.
Well, took SFML_STATIC off and -d from linker input things
-d is for debug libraries. You must keep it in your Debug configuration.
-
This is not really an excuse... but yes, the next version of the website will use a bigger font size and have important paragraphs in red.
-
Now works when run, but title doesn't
btw. can one library be so hard as this? Only problems after problems.
-
Title doesn't what? Are you sure that you didn't mix debug and release (i.e. linking release libs in debug mode)?
btw. can one library be so hard as this? Only problems after problems.
Are you kidding? The only problem is that you don't want to read the tutorial.
And SFML is not more complicated than any other library, the configuration steps required here are quite common.
-
I try again. Yes sorry, I'm just very tired and pissed.
And when I add -d to .lib for debug mode, I get this error:
warning LNK4099: PDB 'sfml-main-d.pdb' was not found with 'sfml-main-d.lib(SFML_Main.cpp.obj)' or at 'C:\Users\ekeimaja\Desktop\sfml\Debug\sfml-main-d.pdb'; linking object as if no debug info C:\Users\ekeimaja\Desktop\sfml\sfml\sfml-main-d.lib(SFML_Main.cpp.obj) sfml
-
This is not an error, just a normal warning (you didn't compile SFML so you don't have its debugging symbols). It has no effect on your application.
-
I'll just post this here I guess.
Uh, I tried the 2.0 installation tutorial on 2010 express, did everything it told me to, and got this:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.0/start-vc.php
When I changed int main()
to int WinMain()
, as to see if that would fix it, I got this:
1>k:\yannic\bobstudios\projects\sfml_test_1\sfml_test_1\main.cpp(4): warning C4007: 'WinMain' : must be '__stdcall'
1>MSVCRTD.lib(crtexew.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16 referenced in function ___tmainCRTStartup
What am I doing wrong?
-
Uh, I tried the 2.0 installation tutorial on 2010 express, did everything it told me to, and got this:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.0/start-vc.php
Hu you got a link to the tutorial from the compiler? ???
What am I doing wrong?
Well you've answered that yourself already:
When I changed int main()
to int WinMain()
, as to see if that would fix it, I got this:
1>k:\yannic\bobstudios\projects\sfml_test_1\sfml_test_1\main.cpp(4): warning C4007: 'WinMain' : must be '__stdcall'
1>MSVCRTD.lib(crtexew.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16 referenced in function ___tmainCRTStartup
Don't just change the main() to WinMain() that's not how things work. ;D
If you want to get rid of the console window, then link against sfml-main.lib (or sfml-main-d.lib). ;)
IIRC that's also written in the tutorial somewhere.
-
Don't just change the main() to WinMain() that's not how things work. ;D
If you want to get rid of the console window, then link against sfml-main.lib (or sfml-main-d.lib). ;)
IIRC that's also written in the tutorial somewhere.
I do what now?
I added sfml-main-d.lib to the additional dependencies, but the console thing still shows.
-
Ah sorry forgot to mention that you need to change the subsystem to /WINDOW
-
Ah sorry forgot to mention that you need to change the subsystem to /WINDOW
Sorry for not knowing a lot, but where do I do this?
Thanks! That worked great.
Found it under Linker > System
-
Here is a youtube video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PtSDrLpV74M&lc=vN6a9_S3nMRbdnAZCbG6HOKNt3j3yg3J7xCdRXZeDDE&context=C32d6917ADOEgsToPDskJ6DnT9LDtXlFctwZ7ePtn8) that I have found to be immensely helpful for setting up SFML 2.0 in VS2010. It should walk you through the entire process.
I got to the part where i was supposed to run nmake in the command prompt and it just comes up with 'fatal error U1064: MAKEFILE not found and no target specified'
There is definitely a makefile in the SMFL2 folder and when I added in the folder location it comes up with 'access denied'... Please help!!