SFML community forums

Help => General => Topic started by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 16, 2012, 04:16:55 pm

Title: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 16, 2012, 04:16:55 pm
"The procedure entry point
_ZN2sf4Font12LoadFromFileERKsjRKNS_7Unicode4TextE could not be located in the dynamic link library sfml-graphics.dll."
What is this? Did I not build SFML right? Is it a problem with C::B? Somehthing else?
Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 16, 2012, 04:19:50 pm
Why did you rebuild SFML 1.6?

This error implies that sfml-graphics.dll doesn't match the libsfml-graphics.a that you linked your app to.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 16, 2012, 06:24:53 pm
Ummm.... I never rebuilt it?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 16, 2012, 06:40:33 pm
I thought you did:
Quote from: BrainInaJar1245
Did I not build SFML right?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 16, 2012, 08:40:05 pm
Don't you build it when you set it up?

I'm utterly clueless as to this stuff. SFML is my first experience with anything outside of the IDE and terminal. Please treat me as such.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 16, 2012, 10:28:13 pm
Quote
Don't you build it when you set it up?
Sorry but I have no idea what you're talking about.

Anyway, what about this?
Quote
This error implies that sfml-graphics.dll doesn't match the libsfml-graphics.a that you linked your app to.
have you checked?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 18, 2012, 12:57:15 am
Quote
Don't you build it when you set it up?
Sorry but I have no idea what you're talking about.
In that case, I'm assuming not.

Anyway, what about this?
Quote
This error implies that sfml-graphics.dll doesn't match the libsfml-graphics.a that you linked your app to.
have you checked?
I would, if I knew how... What do I do for that?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 18, 2012, 08:14:33 am
Quote
I would, if I knew how... What do I do for that?
You must make sure that they are both from the same package.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 18, 2012, 02:25:49 pm
And... How would I do that? I'm sorry but I'm just clueless at this.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 18, 2012, 02:47:40 pm
There's nothing to "do". I'm just telling you to check that you're not mixing different versions of SFML that you would have downloaded or compiled.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 18, 2012, 03:54:21 pm
That might be it... Where would I look to clean that up?

Edit: That said, everything I've been doing since I switched to C::B has been with 1.6, so I'm wondering what could have gone wrong...
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 18, 2012, 04:03:51 pm
Where did you get the sfml-graphics.dll file that you're trying to use? If you're not sure, upload it and I'll tell you.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 19, 2012, 04:03:09 pm
ftp://2012cstoneman@llstudents.org@llstudents.org/SFML/sfml-graphics.dll (ftp://2012cstoneman@llstudents.org@llstudents.org/SFML/sfml-graphics.dll)

This should be it, assuming I uploaded it right.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 19, 2012, 04:21:17 pm
Your FTP server asks for a username and password.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 20, 2012, 02:44:47 am
I PM'ed it to you.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 20, 2012, 07:58:51 am
Doesn't work. But please... just use one of the many websites that allow you to upload and share data :P

Have a look at sfmluploads.org
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 20, 2012, 02:36:07 pm
https://legacy.sfmluploads.org/file/131

Okay... Better?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 20, 2012, 02:48:07 pm
Yeah ;)

What's your version of MinGW/gcc?

And is the error message in your first post an exact copy and paste, or did you write it manually?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 20, 2012, 03:57:56 pm
What's your version of MinGW/gcc?
4.6.2, I'm pretty sure.

And is the error message in your first post an exact copy and paste, or did you write it manually?

It's manually written because c::b wouldn't let me copy and paste it, but it's exact.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 20, 2012, 04:28:26 pm
Quote
it's exact
I don't think so, the symbol should be
_ZN2sf4Font12LoadFromFileERKSsjRKNS_7Unicode4TextE
instead of
_ZN2sf4Font12LoadFromFileERKsjRKNS_7Unicode4TextE
Can you confirm this?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 20, 2012, 05:54:05 pm
Yep, you're right. Capital S.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 20, 2012, 05:57:58 pm
Ok. Then I can tell you that the sfml-graphics.dll file that you uploaded contains this symbol, so for some reason your executable is using another sfml-graphics.dll file (probably one from a directory which is in the PATH environment variable).

Make sure that you don't have other SFML DLLs on your disk.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 24, 2012, 03:56:33 pm
Deleted everything with SFML in it, re-downloaded it and started from scratch, with the exception of my program... Same error. What did I do wrong?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 24, 2012, 04:06:41 pm
Use DependencyWalker.exe (Google it) to find out where is the sfml-graphics.dll file that yuor executable depends on.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 25, 2012, 04:07:12 pm
How do I do use that? I can upload a dll, but how do i find which one my system depends on? Is it the codeblocks.dll file?
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: Laurent on April 25, 2012, 04:18:23 pm
Drag n drop your executable inside DependencyWalker, then find "sfml-graphics.dll" and once you've found it, there should be its full path written.
Title: Re: Procedure Entry Point?
Post by: BrainInaJar1245 on April 25, 2012, 04:29:03 pm
Looks like that was where the problem was.

Thanks for being so patient, it's nice to know that not all computer forums are just a bunch of trolls who prey on any newbie who comes by looking for help. Definitely using this again.