SFML community forums

Bindings - other languages => C => Topic started by: yc on June 25, 2011, 09:13:14 pm

Title: Problem with DLLs
Post by: yc on June 25, 2011, 09:13:14 pm
Howdy,

I've recently begun having a problem with SFML. I'm pretty new to C++ so let me know what else you need to make sense of this.

The code in question:
(http://i.imgur.com/YazXa.png)

When I build and run the above, the console appears but the program hangs forever. The break point is never hit.

If I comment out the construction of video_mode and do a full rebuild, the break point is hit and everything proceeds as expected.

I am using the debug dll versions of the sfml library. The debug static versions seem to work fine.

Thoughts?

Thanks!
Title: Problem with DLLs
Post by: Cuban-Pete on June 26, 2011, 01:14:02 am
Let me take a look into my crystal ball... I see a videocard... an Ati videocard... wait there is more, I also see a 1.6...  :P

Sorry, for the bad joke. You probably have an ati videocard and are using version 1.6. To make it work you can do two things:

- static link sfml 1.6
- use sfml 2.0
Title: Problem with DLLs
Post by: yc on June 26, 2011, 04:21:52 pm
Quote from: "Cuban-Pete"
Let me take a look into my crystal ball... I see a videocard... an Ati videocard... wait there is more, I also see a 1.6...  :P

Sorry, for the bad joke. You probably have an ati videocard and are using version 1.6. To make it work you can do two things:

- static link sfml 1.6
- use sfml 2.0


Thanks Pete. I found a forum post from March-ish about the same thing I think, but figured maybe that was too old to be the same thing. These solutions work fine for me though.

If it is interesting to anyone, I'm 99% positive the DLLs worked fine until I installed an optional windows update that was something like "ATI blah blah".

Best, bug report, ever. =)
Title: Problem with DLLs
Post by: OniLinkPlus on June 27, 2011, 04:39:58 am
Quote from: "yc"
Quote from: "Cuban-Pete"
Let me take a look into my crystal ball... I see a videocard... an Ati videocard... wait there is more, I also see a 1.6...  :P

Sorry, for the bad joke. You probably have an ati videocard and are using version 1.6. To make it work you can do two things:

- static link sfml 1.6
- use sfml 2.0


Thanks Pete. I found a forum post from March-ish about the same thing I think, but figured maybe that was too old to be the same thing. These solutions work fine for me though.

If it is interesting to anyone, I'm 99% positive the DLLs worked fine until I installed an optional windows update that was something like "ATI blah blah".

Best, bug report, ever. =)
That update was an ATi Driver update. ATi hasn't been doing very well with their drivers, they managed to completely screw up SFML 1.x recently.