Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Weird DLL error  (Read 1582 times)

thyagobr

• View Profile
    • Email
[SOLVED] Weird DLL error
« on: March 07, 2013, 06:58:39 pm »
Hi guys. I'm a SFML beginner, and I just went through the process of installing it. What I did was to follow this tutorial (http://sfmlcoder.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/building-sfml-2-nmake/) to download SFML 2.0 and compile it for Visual Studio 20[12] with CMake and NMake. Everything went well, and I ran the sample code.

That's where things got weird. I use Avast! Antivirus, and it always makes a little sandbox for programs to run on it before actually running on windows. So, I compile my program, no errors, and run it. Avast! pops up, the program runs on its sandbox, I get my blank SFML window, all perfect. Then Avast! asked me if I'd like to allow my program to be executed on my computer, and I said yes. And then I got the message that "sfml-graphics-d-2.dll is missing". The thing is: 1) it's not, it's there on the executable folder and 2) it worked on Avast! sandbox!

Does anybody have a clue of what might be happening? Meanwhile, I'll recompile the sources and re-configure the project's properties all over again. Thanks a bunch.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 07:14:59 pm by thyagobr »

thyagobr

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Weird DLL error
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2013, 07:07:06 pm »
Just so no one will bother, or to help future users, I decided to throw all my dll's into Windows's System32 and SysWOW64 folders, and now it works. I guess my error was: I was throwing the DLL's on the "\Project_Name" folder. Maybe I should have placed them on "\Project_Name\Debug" or "\Project_Name\Release".

I still find it weird, though, that Avast!'s sandbox was able to run it anyways.

Jebbs

• DSFML Developer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [SOLVED] Weird DLL error
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2013, 07:49:09 pm »