Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Simple Problem With Sprites And Display  (Read 4352 times)

DarkNemesis

• View Profile
Simple Problem With Sprites And Display
« on: April 03, 2013, 08:04:49 am »
Hello Guys!
I have recently started learning SFML, and I am still a beginner, so my question might be too lame for you, but please try to help me, as it really bugs me out.
I am using Win7 And SFML 1.6 and trying to make simple games (Minesweeper, Snake)
The Problem I want to ask is : I have created sprites, drawn them on the screen and displayed, and then started my main game loop. Everything runs fine here. But when I edit my code and try draw/change sprites according to the events in the game loop and display them again, why it happens that two screens are displayed alternatively, one having the old sprites, and one completely black screen with just the updates sprites? I read the whole tutorials and came to this simple conclusion that I have to redraw the old sprites again and again as well in the main loop, along with the changed sprites. But Why? And is there any other way to this?

For Instance this is my code for snake (It's not completed, I am just checking how to move the snake around)

#include<SFML/Graphics.hpp>
using namespace sf;
int main()
{
        RenderWindow Snake(VideoMode(800,600),"Snake");
        Image BackGround, SnakeBody;
        BackGround.LoadFromFile("C:/Users/Administrator/Desktop/BG.jpg");
        SnakeBody.LoadFromFile("C:/Users/Administrator/Desktop/SB.jpg");
        Sprite BG(BackGround), SB(SnakeBody);
        for(int i = 0; i < 800; i += 20)
                for(int j = 0; j < 600; j += 20)
                {
                        BG.SetPosition(i,j);
                        Snake.Draw(BG);
                }
        for(int j = 0; j < 61; j += 20)
        {
                SB.SetPosition(400,j);
                Snake.Draw(SB);
        }
        Snake.Display();