Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: libGLEW.so.1.5 no found  (Read 10101 times)

lesshardtofind

• View Profile
libGLEW.so.1.5 no found
« on: December 31, 2012, 10:22:08 pm »
Hey!

I've tried SDL, Win32, and GLUT, with OpenGL and I just found out about SFML yesterday.  I figured I'd give it a try because I prefer to program in C++.  I have had some bumps along the way getting things to work.  I'm still trying to compile the first example program in your tutorial and I hit a wall on this error.

warning: libGLEW.so.1.5 needed by (blah blah path) graphics.so

I have libGLEW.so.1.8 on my system is this causing the problem?

Thanks for any and all help!

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: libGLEW.so.1.5 no found
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2013, 01:45:12 am »
I'm not a Linux expert, but I'd say that you either have to install the GLEW 1.5 version or recompile SFML to handle GLEW 1.8.

Also make sure to use SFML 2.0 and not 1.6, because the 1.6 version is quite outdated, has many bugs and lacks nice features like sf::RenderTexture or sf::VertexArray. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

lesshardtofind

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2013, 02:58:44 am »
I am probably even less of an expert as I have spent way to much time trying to get this library to build.  I just started using ubuntu last month so very new to Unix.

I will try to get the older packages installed on my machine after work.  Are you sure this isn't going to create problems in my system to have old and new GLEW files?

I downloaded the 64 bit 2.0 version of SFML.

Ideka

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2013, 03:08:38 am »
How did you install SFML?