Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [50% SOLVED]name.loadFromFile("pic.png") does not load the picture  (Read 1725 times)

Jigsik

• View Profile
    • Email
Hello,

I am dealing with this problem. I followed one tutorial on youtube and write this in code.

sf::Texture pTexture;
sf::Sprite PlayerImage;
if (!pTexture.loadFromFile("player1.png"))
                std::cout << "Error could not load player image" << std::endl;

And I can compile it without problems, run it and then I got my output when it couldnt load. I dont know what to do. I use Visual Studio 2013 and SFML 2.1. I have the picture at the same directory where my main is. I am new to SFML and I already tried a Joystick, Keyboard and mouse fucktions, to draw a cycrle etc. And this is the first thing that doesnt work..

Thanks for replies.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 05:33:39 pm by Jigsik »

Ixrec

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: name.loadFromFile("pic.png") does not load the picture
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2014, 03:28:19 pm »
Assuming you've made sure the .png really is in the directory you think it is, the typical reason for this is IDEs using a different working directory from what you're expecting.  Try putting the file in some other places in the project (I think the Debug and Release folders are likely suspects).

Jigsik

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2014, 03:36:21 pm »
Thanks for reply!

I have already tried that. I read on one forum about someone who had the same problem, but he got problem with the project properties (badly wrote the libraries), but I think that would not be my problem when I already draw the cycrle and its the same library.

For now I am just debugging so I have just the debug folder. And before I forget, I have a 64bit and learning from tutorial on SFML 2.0 (if it helps)

Thanks one more time.

Ixrec

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2014, 05:08:15 pm »