Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML x64 - window size problem  (Read 1876 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

The Thinker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
SFML x64 - window size problem
« on: October 29, 2014, 04:25:32 am »
Hi all.
I upgraded to Visual Studio 2013 and SFML 64 bit (unofficial version) from nightlybuilds and I tried to recompile few projects, especially the ones of the book SFML GAME DEVELOPMENT.
Everything works, (except some PBD cannot be opened, most of them I fixed with Debugging/Symbols/Microsoft Symbol Servers,and I tend to ignore the other ones, hopefully they are not relevant, please tell me if I'm wrong :))

...but the only weird problem is that when I open the .exe of my projects in debug or release folders, the windows of the projects I built with SFML 64 bit under Visual Studio 2013 are very small compared to the ones built with the official 32 bit version in Visual Studio 2012 or Xcode 6.1.

Please see the attachments as example and let me know what the cause could be and if it's a common problem that can be fixed.
(If you save them on your desktop you can probably see better what I mean, the 64 bit window is smaller than the 32 bit one.)

Thank you :)

http://pasteboard.co/1i9NpMDh.png    SFML 64 bit (unofficial), built with Visual Studio 2013

http://pasteboard.co/1i9TIMi8.png      SFML 32 bit, built with Visual Studio 2012
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 04:38:41 am by The Thinker »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10998
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
AW: SFML x64 - window size problem
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2014, 08:08:31 am »
What kind of display do you have?
What's the actual size of the window in the source code?

We've fixed some high DPI display issues, so the "x64 size" might actually be at the right size, while the "32bit size" was wrong.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

The Thinker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: SFML x64 - window size problem
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2014, 09:40:58 am »
I have a 15-inch MacBook Pro with retina display.
Current resolution set to 2880 x 1800

In the code the resolution of the window is:
: mWindow(sf::VideoMode(1024, 768), "Network", sf::Style::Close)

I attached better pictures to clarify better what I mean:

The first is the 64bit
The second one the 32bit

Please let me know what you think and thanks :)
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 09:50:27 am by The Thinker »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10998
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: SFML x64 - window size problem
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2014, 09:49:55 am »
Did you zoom in on the screenshots?
Because none of the resolution matches with what you've passed to the window.
32bit: 2158 x 1618
64bit: 1439 x 1078

As I said, we've changed high DPI dispaly handling, so if the 64bit (nightly build) version has a smaller resolution (better yet if it's 1024, 768) then this is the intended behavior, where the 32bit huge version is essentiall a bug, since it doesn't match the provided resolution.
Or in other words, if you pass in a resolution of 1024 x 768, do you expect it to nearly cover your 2880 x 1800 display? ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

The Thinker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: SFML x64 - window size problem
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2014, 10:02:11 am »
I didn't zoom and yeah I know what you mean, it would be strange that the resolution in the project would almost cover the actual resolution of my screen. :)

So I guess everything is right?

What version is the latest night built. Is still SFML 2.1?

Thank you! :)

 

anything