Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Playing a sample with a volume envelope  (Read 4565 times)

HornetMaX

• View Profile
    • Email
Playing a sample with a volume envelope
« on: February 16, 2015, 09:05:50 pm »
Hi all,
I'm new to SFML hence my question could be a bit noobish.

I'd like to play a given sound  (raw .wav) with a specified "volume envelope", meaning that each individual sample in the .wav must be played with a specified volume.

Is thee a way to achieve this with SFML ?

MaX.

Laurent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Playing a sample with a volume envelope
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2015, 11:08:50 pm »
Nop.

I'm curious: what do you need this for?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

HornetMaX

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2015, 11:58:37 pm »
I'm curious: what do you need this for?
It's a very specific need. I have a .wav file I show graphically on a graph and I'd like to allow the user to select a part of it and loop-play the selected part only, in a particular manner.

First, a volume envelope is applied to the selection, typically as (numbers are just to give an idea):
  • between 0% and 25% of the selection, the volume goes linearly form 0 to 1
  • between 25% and 75% of the selection, the volume stays at 1
  • between 75% and 100% of the selection, the volume goes linearly form 1 to 0
Also, when on the "fade out" section (volume going from 1 to 0), I'll be "mixing" that with the "fade in" section (volume going from 0 to 1).

Essentially what this is trying to achieve is to allow the user to select a section of the .wav and loop it smoothly.

I guess that one way to do that would be to handle myself the "slicing" and "volume envelope" and then use loadFromSamples.

MaX.

Jesper Juhl

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2015, 12:17:27 am »