Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Does anyone know what's the problem here?  (Read 3349 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jerdnA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Does anyone know what's the problem here?
« on: August 30, 2015, 12:32:33 pm »
I have been following the tutorial on setting up SFML with code blocks on the SFML website:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.3/start-cb.php
and this thread:
http://en.sfml-dev.org/forums/index.php?topic=17956.msg128987#msg128987
on the forum.

The problem I have is that when I run the program only the console pops up with this:
Process returned 12 (0xC)   execution time : 0.001 s
Press any key to continue
.
And the page with the green circle doesn't.

If I set the application to a GUI application in the projects properties like the tutorial says I get this in the build log:
-------------- Run: Debug in SFML_Setup_Test (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------

Checking for existence: D:\SFML Projects\SFML_Setup_Test\bin\Debug\SFML_Setup_Test.exe
Executing: "D:\SFML Projects\SFML_Setup_Test\bin\Debug\SFML_Setup_Test.exe"  (in D:\SFML Projects\SFML_Setup_Test\bin\Debug)
Execution of '"D:\SFML Projects\SFML_Setup_Test\bin\Debug\SFML_Setup_Test.exe" ' in 'D:\SFML Projects\SFML_Setup_Test\bin\Debug' failed.


Just "Failed" no errors or anything more specific.
Does anyone know what's the problem here?

I am using SFML 2.3.1 with Code::Blocks 13.12 (GCC 4.7.1) on a 64bit Windows 10



GraphicsWhale

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone know what's the problem here?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2015, 01:39:12 am »
If I set the application to a GUI application in the projects properties like the tutorial says I get this in the build log:

Does it run as a console application?

I am using SFML 2.3.1 with Code::Blocks 13.12 (GCC 4.7.1) on a 64bit Windows 10

Did you build SFML yourself? If not, are you sure your compiler is exactly the same as the one the pre-compiled binaries were compiled with?

jamesL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone know what's the problem here?
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2015, 05:44:32 am »
if you didn't build it as statically linked then you will have put all the SFML dlls into your debug folder

or copy them into system32 or somewhere the program can find them


jerdnA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone know what's the problem here?
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2015, 07:13:48 pm »
Thanks, will try.

GraphicsWhale

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Does anyone know what's the problem here?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2015, 07:14:38 pm »
if you didn't build it as statically linked then you will have put all the SFML dlls into your debug folder

True, but a missing DLL, in Windows, should off an explicit error message saying it can't find the DLL. So I'm led to believe this is not the issue.

or copy them into system32 or somewhere the program can find them

I would not recommend that. As soon as he changes his SFML version, or he changes his compiler, all hell will break loose.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2015, 07:16:39 pm by GraphicsWhale »

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6286
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: Does anyone know what's the problem here?
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2015, 11:33:04 pm »
The clean way would be to add the directory "bin" in SFML's installation directory to the PATH environment variable.

Don't touch C:\Windows\System32.
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

 

anything