Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML With multi GPU  (Read 7419 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kuinox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: SFML With multi GPU
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2018, 07:16:21 pm »
Can you try with the script i did for my game ?   
Quote
var answere = Console.ReadLine()?.ToLower();
bool windowed = !(answere == "yes" || answere == "y");
var window = windowed ? new RenderWindow(VideoMode.FullscreenModes[2], "Vestige", Styles.Titlebar | Styles.Close) : new RenderWindow(VideoMode.FullscreenModes[0], "Vestige", Styles.Fullscreen);
I will test with update driver, i will give the result soon.

Kuinox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: SFML With multi GPU
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2018, 10:36:42 pm »
I updated it. 
It's even worst. Now it won't run on my nvidia graphics card in both case ^^. 
Now using 23.20.16.4901   
Update: 
So, using a nvidia tool, i saw that the windowed mode is using the Nvidia graphics card. 

There is some problems. Because the intel graphics is running really high, when the Nvidia is the default one. 
I will try to use an opengl command to see what is the GPU i'm using.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 09:31:05 pm by Kuinox »

Kuinox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: SFML With multi GPU
« Reply #17 on: January 26, 2018, 04:47:20 pm »
So, now we know that SFML is using the nvidia card thanks to the opengl command. 
Now, i have another problem: 
 
Why the intel spike, and is now always at 100% ? 
I think it sort of bottleneck the nvidia...

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11016
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: SFML With multi GPU
« Reply #18 on: January 26, 2018, 06:00:47 pm »
I wonder can contexts run in different GPUs?

Personally, I'd suggest to run some example with the latest C++ SFML version. Maybe it's something that has been fixed a long time ago already.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Kuinox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: SFML With multi GPU
« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2018, 07:12:31 pm »
First, i will try with another game, that is running SFML, to know if it's my fault :D 
So, i tested with OpenHexagon, it use SFML 2 while i use SFML.NET 2 
It got the same problem: 


Windows recognize it as using the intel GPU, and it eat up the intel gpu, and it's probably being bottleneck by the intel GPU. 
Now, i will try with a game that isn't using SFML(to test if it's not my laptop fault) 
OKay, so it's look like that, more i draw frames, more it use the intel card. 
When i run CSGO, it also use the intel card, but a lot less than when i run a small 2D game that run at 300-400 fps. 
So it looks like it my laptop fault. 
For the bad GPU indicator in the task manager, it work on games not using SFML. 
Maybe there is something to do ?