Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: How to statically link sfml with codeblocks  (Read 4620 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

InculetAlexandru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
How to statically link sfml with codeblocks
« on: January 07, 2020, 02:35:33 am »
I followed all the steps from the website, including those with "sfml-graphics-s-d...." on debug and "sfml-graphics-s..." on release, but still when i click on the executable file of the project i still get the error mesage that the "sfml-graphics-2.dll is missing from your computer", but isnt that the purpose of the static linking to get rid of the dlls? ??? ??? ??? ???
 :o :o :o :o

G.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1593
    • View Profile
Re: How to statically link sfml with codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2020, 09:40:39 am »
Well, you did something wrong. :p

Did you recompile the project?
Did you define SFML_STATIC?

InculetAlexandru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How to statically link sfml with codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2020, 11:20:27 pm »
Well, you did something wrong. :p

Did you recompile the project?
Did you define SFML_STATIC?


I defined SFML_STATIC and everything still not working... :(

InculetAlexandru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How to statically link sfml with codeblocks
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2020, 11:37:29 pm »
So, lets recap:
1. I downloaded the SJLJ version with Codeblocks
2. New Project -> Empty Project -> Project -> Build Options -> "Name of the project" -> Search directories -> Compiler -> Add -> Then I added the path to the include folder from the sfml file i have downloaded -> Said "No" to the "keep it as a relative path" question.
3."Name of the project" -> Search directories -> Linker -> Add -> Then I added the path to the lib folder from the sfml file i have downloaded-> Said "No" to the "keep it as a relative path" question.
4. Debug -> Linker settings-> Add -> Then I added "sfml-graphics-s-d","sfml-window-s-d","sfml-system-s-d", in this order.
5. Release -> Linker settings-> Add -> Then I added "sfml-graphics-s","sfml-window-s","sfml-system-s", in this order.
6."Name of the project" -> Compiler settings -> defines -> I added "SFML_STATIC"


still not working when i double click on the exe located in the project folder/bin/debug
i get the error: "sfml-graphics-2.dll not found" ... :( :( :( :(
 

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: How to statically link sfml with codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2020, 08:07:44 am »
Open your project file (it's XML) and search occurences of sfml-xxx without -s. Will be much easier than searching through the CodeBlocks UI.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

InculetAlexandru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How to statically link sfml with codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2020, 11:39:57 pm »
Nvm, i managed to make the library from the source code using cmake ....

Asimov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: How to statically link sfml with codeblocks
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2024, 03:21:59 pm »
I have also made it from source code using cmake. It works on my computer but won't work on my friends computer. Can you go through exactly what you set in cmake?

 

anything