Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Code::Blocks and SFML2  (Read 1687 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sour-Lemon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Code::Blocks and SFML2
« on: October 21, 2010, 11:16:36 am »
I am having trouble building the dll's from the files in the SMFL2 snapshot (Downloaded today from the downloads page)

I always just download the latest stable version of things like this, but this time I decided to see if I could get SFML2 working for me.

I have the latest version of Code::Blocks and as I already said I downloaded the SFML2 snapshot from the downloads page today.

This is what I did (Being completely new to this I'm guessing I made a simple mistake somewhere):

1) Download SFML snapshot and extract to my desktop

2) Go to the extracted folder and go to, sfml2\build\codeblocks\batch-build - Then use build.bat

3) Open the SFML.workspace file in the sfml2\build\codeblocks directory

4) Select Debug DLL_Win32 as my build target

5) Go to build and select Build Workspace

It creates the libsfml2-system-d.dll.a and libsfml2-system-d.dll files fine, then it hits the following problem on sfml-window

Code: [Select]
-------------- Build: Debug DLL_Win32 in sfml-window ---------------

Linking dynamic library: ..\..\lib\mingw\sfml2-window-d.dll
mingw32-g++.exe: ..\..\lib\mingw\libsfml2-system-d.a: No such file or directory
Process terminated with status 1 (0 minutes, 0 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings


I looked in my sfml2\lib\mingw directory and the build.bat had created the following:

libsfml2-audio-s.a
libsfml2-audio-s-d.a
libsfml2-graphics-s.a
libsfml2-graphics-s-d.a
libsfml2-network-s.a
libsfml2-network-s-d.a
libsfml2-window-s.a
libsfml2-window-s-d.a

But I see no libsfml2-system-d.a file

So I guess I'm just doing it wrong.
But like I said I am new to this so I am not sure exactly what to do.

Any help would be appreciated :)

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Code::Blocks and SFML2
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2010, 11:26:16 am »
You should rather use CMake, the Code::Blocks workspace will be removed before the public release of SFML 2.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Sour-Lemon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Code::Blocks and SFML2
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2010, 10:03:14 pm »
Thank you for your reply :)
I will have a go at using CMake and see what happens (I don't have much experience with this kind of stuff)