Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Changes in API  (Read 1851 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BMB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Changes in API
« on: December 30, 2011, 12:40:40 am »
I just compiled the new version of SFML2 from github, my previous one being about 2 weeks old, and now my programs wont link. Looking at the commit histort, it appears the changes were from the "merge branch 'drawables'" commit. However, as that commit changed a few thousand lines, I cannot just go see what changed.

So...
a) What is this 'drawables' branch that was merged?
b) Is there a list of the changes it caused? A partial list of what the linker reports as missing:
  Sprite::SetSubRect
  Drawable::SetPosition(float, float)
  Drawable::~Drawable
  RenderTarget::Draw(Drawable const&)

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6287
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: Changes in API
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 12:48:47 am »
It is the new Graphics API, see here.

But how can you only have linker errors? Many identifiers have changed, it shouldn't even compile. I recommend a complete rebuild. The new classes and functions can be looked up in the online documentation.
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

BMB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Changes in API
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 12:50:16 am »
Quote from: "Nexus"
It is the new Graphics API, see here.

But how can you only have linker errors? Many identifiers have changed, it shouldn't even compile. I recommend a complete rebuild. The new classes and functions can be looked up in the online documentation.


this was after I did a complete rebuild.

BMB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Changes in API
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2011, 12:53:20 am »
Quote from: "BMB"
Quote from: "Nexus"
It is the new Graphics API, see here.

But how can you only have linker errors? Many identifiers have changed, it shouldn't even compile. I recommend a complete rebuild. The new classes and functions can be looked up in the online documentation.


this was after I did a complete rebuild.


I just realized I was using the old include directory. I will do it again to get the compiler errors ;-)

 

anything