Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Texture won't display when loaded from within a class?  (Read 4315 times)

mastodona7x

• View Profile
Texture won't display when loaded from within a class?
« on: July 07, 2012, 06:05:48 pm »
Hello all,  :)

Total noobie here but Im trying to create a simple game. I want to create a bomb object and everything is fine if I set the bomb up from within the main() loop, but if I try to make a bomb class then create a new bomb from this class, the texture no longer loads, I just get a white square instead. Can anyone help see why please?
Also can I pass a sf::IntRect() over the the class instead of having to pass over 4 individual ints? I tried changing the bomb class to get sf::IntRect textureRect and passing sf::IntRect(0,0,32,32) in the call but I just could not get it to work, so I am not sure if this is possible?

Main worry is the lack of texture anyway, like I say if I have the bomb created in main it shows the png bomb just fine, any suggestions most appreciated thanks.  :)

Code so far:

call top create new bomb instance in main()
Bomb bomb(0,0,32,32,0,0,64,64,160,160); // would rather pass some IntRects so neaten this up!

In bomb class (bomb.h):
public:
  Bomb(int texureRectX, int textureRectY, int textureRectSizeX, int textureRectSizeY, int collisionRectX, int collisionRectY, int collisionRectSizeX, int collisionRectSizeY, int posX, int posY )
  {
         this->setTextureRect(sf::IntRect(0,0,32,32));
         this->setRelativeCollider(sf::IntRect(0,0,64,64));
         this->setPosition(160, 160);
         sf::Texture bombChar;
         bombChar.loadFromFile("images/bomb.png");
         this->setTexture(bombChar);
  };

Hiura

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Texture won't display when loaded from within a class?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2012, 06:51:51 pm »