Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [2.0] How to stop moving sprites from stacking onto each other?  (Read 1565 times)

NinjaCat

• View Profile
[2.0] How to stop moving sprites from stacking onto each other?
« on: January 15, 2013, 11:41:02 pm »
Hello, I'm quite new to SFML, but as far as I've searched, I had no luck finding people with a similar problem.

Anway, I have a group of sprites moving towards another single sprite. Everything works fine, but they stack on top of each other.

So I made some collision checking, and it would work fine, if I wanted for the sprites to stop moving completely, when colliding. I'm trying to make them walk/bounce away from each other when they get too close, while not stopping the movement towards their target.

If there any way of achieving this in an uncomplicated manner?

(I've managed to get similar results(by bouncing them in a direction, opposite/left/right of the movement direction), but the group of sprites would occasionally "teleport" between each other.)

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: [2.0] How to stop moving sprites from stacking onto each other?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2013, 02:12:02 am »
It's called collision detection and collision response - there's no magic that suddenly make things happen, you have to implement everything on your own. ;)
Just google the two given terms and you'll find hundreds of articles about it - some good, some not so.

Or you can go and grab an existing physics library for 2D graphics, like for example Box2D.

Anyways physics in games is one part that's not always easy to achieve. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2013, 10:01:06 am »