Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: making an object move help  (Read 9348 times)

makeitloud

• View Profile
    • Email
making an object move help
« on: April 15, 2013, 07:28:17 pm »
Hello guys im new to sfml and have a little bit of C++ knowledge, i was wondering if someone could point me in the direction or help me on getting a ball/or circle to just move around on the screen. any help would be appreciated

The Terminator

• Windows and Mac C++ Developer
    • View Profile
Re: making an object move help
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2013, 12:33:11 am »
#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>    

int main()
    {
        //Example for making a rectangle move around
        sf::RenderWindow screen(sf::VideoMode(1024, 768) "Rectangle shape test"); //Create a window
        screen.setFramerateLimit(60); //Limit the frame rate to 60

sf::RectangleShape rectangle; //Instantiate rectangle object
        rectangle.setFillColor(sf::Color::Blue); //Color the rectangle with blue
        rectangle.setPosition(100, 100); //Set the rectangle's position to 100, 100

while (screen.isOpen()) //loop to update the window
        {
            sf::Event event; //Create an event class

while (screen.pollEvent(event)) //Poll all possible events
            {
                if (event.type == sf::Event::Closed) //If the user hits the red X button
                    screen.close(); //If true, close the window

if (sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed(sf::Keyboard::W)) //If the user is holding down the key "W"
                    rectangle.move(0, 5); //move the rectangle 5 pixels on the y axis
            }

screen.clear(); //Clear the screen of all elements

screen.draw(rectangle); //Draw the rectangle

screen.display(); //Display it
        }
    }