Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Starting with SFML - coming form a java world!  (Read 1937 times)

Eric

• View Profile
Starting with SFML - coming form a java world!
« on: May 05, 2013, 09:34:14 am »
Congratulations with the release of 2.0! I just managed to get the old 2.0 installed on my Xcode a week ago :-) I  find it very interesting

I'm an experienced java-programmer and I've heard a lot about memory leaks, pointers and other warnings about c++ in the past - but I really like SFML and want to try it out

I have a question regarding the C++ language. I know there is no garbage collector in c++, but should I worry about destroying objects / smart pointers and stuff in C++? I'm new to c++ but syntax seems very familiar and I want to learn that language.

Eric

Dragnalith

• View Profile
Re: Starting with SFML - coming form a java world!
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 11:15:36 am »
Yes, in C++ you have to worry about destroying objects if they have been created dynamically (it means "with the new operator"). New thing in C++ which doesn't exist in Java is the destructor method of a class. It lets you define what to do when your object is destroyed ("how to destroy attributes").

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 11:30:55 am »
The most important thing when you come from Java, is to forget about new the way you were used to. The new operator is not the default way to create an object in C++ -- it is used for dynamic memory management, and requires a delete to destroy an object. In modern C++, you should rarely use new, and if you do, you directly encapsulate it into a smart pointer. This principle is called RAII, a crucial C++ idiom you should definitely have an in-depth look at.