Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML SpriteSheet animation library?  (Read 4893 times)

Eamonn

• I love programming :)
    • View Profile
    • Email
SFML SpriteSheet animation library?
« on: July 13, 2013, 01:46:05 am »
I was watching CodingMadeEasy's tutorial on SpriteSheet animation in SFML. I have to say everything up until this point has been really simple. This is something I just don't grasp. I've programmed in Lua+Love2d, but it had a library for spritesheet animation. I know of Thor, which is the extention on SFML, and it offers Animation. Does Thor offer complete compatibility with SFML? Like, can I only use one part of the Thor library(like the animation lib) but everything else in SFML? Is Thor better to use for games?

I'm still learning SFML, and I'd say I'd be better off learning SFML before using libraries, otherwise it'd just be a huge headache down the road. Don't rage if this is a stupid question. Don't hate or put me down for my opinion.

Thanks! Any help is appreciated!
Stuff.

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: SFML SpriteSheet animation library?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2013, 02:11:57 am »
Does Thor offer complete compatibility with SFML? Like, can I only use one part of the Thor library(like the animation lib) but everything else in SFML?
Yes, Thor is organized in a modular way: You can use the features you like and implement the rest yourself or use another library. It's not an interwoven game engine that dictates every aspect ;)

There is no tutorial for the animations yet, but you could look at the API documentation and the example in the SDK. And don't hesitate to ask if there are questions :)

I'm still learning SFML, and I'd say I'd be better off learning SFML before using libraries, otherwise it'd just be a huge headache down the road.