Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Undefined reference errors  (Read 3224 times)

carton83

• View Profile
Undefined reference errors
« on: November 14, 2013, 07:32:47 am »
Hi all, I am just getting into SFML.  I was setting/compiling up 2.1 on my LMDE partition by following the 2.1 tutorial in the official resources and afterwords I try compiling a simple program to test if everything works.  I end up failing because the linker can not find anything related to SFML.

Here is the code.

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>
bool events(sf::RenderWindow &window)
{
    sf::Event event;
    window.pollEvent(event);

if(event.type == sf::Event::EventType::MouseButtonPressed)
    {
        return true;
    }

return false;
}
int main()
{
    sf::RenderWindow window;
    window.create(sf::VideoMode(400, 400), "Test!");
    window.setFramerateLimit(4);

while(!events)
    {
        window.clear(sf::Color(0,0,0));
        window.display();
        window.clear(sf::Color(128,128,128));
        window.display();
    }
    window.close();
    return 0;
}

Any idea as to what I can do to figure out what went wrong?

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Undefined reference errors
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2013, 07:38:56 am »
Your linker can't find the libraries, so you have to tell it where to look out for them.
Where have you installed the libraries to and is that path in ld's linker path?

You might want to read a few things on your linker. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

G.

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2013, 07:53:22 am »
On a side note, if this code is from a tutorial you should abandon it and follow the official ones instead because it is very bad.

carton83

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2013, 06:31:47 pm »