Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Trouble setting up SFML  (Read 2552 times)

murray8989

• View Profile
Trouble setting up SFML
« on: December 09, 2013, 04:42:10 am »
Hi. I am extremely frustrated with trying to get SFML 2.1 working on my Ubuntu 13.10 in code::Blocks 12.11. I have been trying for several days and I am going crazy! I have downloaded all the dependencies, uninstalled, re-installed, and repeated. I have read through about 20 tutorials. I have tried the using repositories that are suppose to completely set it up, downloading the pre-compiled version and putting the folders in the right spot, building 2.1 from source, building 2.0 from source. With all of these attempts, I get stuck with some cryptic error message that sends me down another path towards continued frustration! I am a college student with intermediate c++ experience. I'm not a computer science major and so setting up these libraries is a bit of a stretch for my skills. Does anyone know where I can find some help? I just want to make a freaking circle with SFML  :'( .

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
AW: Trouble setting up SFML
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2013, 08:03:07 am »
You can find help here, but you need to be more precise on the error messages and your current setup stage.

In general it's best to compile SFML from source, so all dependencies will bd the ones you currently have.

The setup goes about like this:
- Download the SFML source from GitHub
- Install all dependencies as listsd in the Linux tutorial.
- Install CMake and GCC/Clang.
- Go through the official SFML CMake tutorial step by step.
- sudo make install
- Profit

So where do you get stuck?  )
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

murray8989

• View Profile
Re: Trouble setting up SFML